PatsFans.com Retired Jersey Club
The hand under the ball did not move ON the ball. Henry had full control with that hand. That's catch every time... except for this game when the NYJFL refs get involved. The other hand did move but that is not the point. That was a catch. Now, if the league wanted to say that the bobble meant that he didn't have control until he hit the ground, then they still should have placed the ball on the 6 inch line.
That’s EXACTLY what the ruling should’ve been: Legal catch, but control not established until the ball was outside the goal line… 4th/Goal inside the 1.
That’s don’t have incontrovertible visual evidence of that assertion. That means you haven’t met the NFL burden of proof for overturning a call. Plus, Henry secured control of the ball with his hands, extended the ball across the goal line before touching the ground. That’s a completion according to Rule 8, Article 1, Section 3.
HH Never established possession until the ball was outside the goal line… When the ball was over it, he was still in the process of establishing control of the catch… At No POINT did he become a “runner” and make a “football move” with the ball over the goal line… Because the ball loosened from his grip when he hit the ground, he had to Re-establish control… Which he did, but not until the ball was back outside - and NOT over - the goal line…. 4th/Goal inside the 1.
This isn’t that hard, folks… Except, strangely, it seems, to the most blind homers here and the suits (& skirts) on Park Avenue.