PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Video: Saints Preview -Saints Offense vs the Vikings 4-3 Def.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tony2046

PatsFans.com Supporter
PatsFans.com Supporter
2019 Weekly Picks Winner
2021 Weekly Picks Winner
Reaction score
With the Pats vs Saints game coming up tomorrow I wanted to see how the Vikings Def slowed down the Brees led offense.

Note: If I have time next week and people enjoy it I'll try to get one of these out earlier in the week. Didn't think of it until today. (This one is a little sloppy and rushed so there may be some mistakes)

I've included the first series in which the Saints scored a field goal and added their two big plays during the game at the end. The Vikings defense remained the same pretty much throughout the game which was in a Base 4-3 (someone can elaborate further on that if they wish).

With the same "I'm not an expert" disclaimer I would say that I feel a lot more positive about tomorrow's game than I did prior to watching the Saints game as I think the Pats have the personnel to stop their running game, get pressure on Brees and cover their receiving threats. But have to add that with Brees you'll never know.

Thoughts:

The Saints tried to establish their running game but couldn't and seemed to use it to "keep the defense honest" later in the game.

It looks like the Vikings went into the game with a plan to disrupt the timing routes. Brees misses on a few throws but doubt it's due to a "weak arm" or "fluttering" passes although his "athletic processing" looks flimsy. :eek::eek::D

Peterson is interesting. I've read that he's a pass blocking liability that offers little to no threat in the passing game. What is he doing on the Saints roster? Will they try to draw up some gimmicky plays with him in the backfield? Curious. Anyways the Saints may try to establish the run game again. I hope the Pats shut it down.