Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract
But Dez would have to have been touched to be down when his knee hit the ground. If you're running and fall down and no one touches you, you can jump back up and keep running.Here is how I think the NFL rule should be. And it would be consistent with their other rules on a completion.
We've often heard, once you caught the ball with control, took two steps or had 2 feet down, at that instance you have made the completion and now are considered a runner. What you do after that moment, you should be considered a runner.
Dez Bryant caught it, took 3 steps, goes down with contact at the 1 foot line. The moment his elbow touches the ground, he has had control, already taken 3 steps and the ground should not cause the fumble because he is now a runner. Ball control was made the whole way until his right elbow was down. Play over period.
This would be consistent with the other NFL rules if the NFL did it this way. I think the rule is inconsistent with the other rules of 2 feet in bounds, and ball across the goal line with control is an instant touchdown the moment control of the ball is demonstrated and crosses the plane.