Patriots Local News:

SOURCE:CBS Boston


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:NESN


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:ProFootballTalk.com


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:Boston Sports Journal


SOURCE:Boston.com


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:CBS Boston


SOURCE:ProFootballTalk.com


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:WEEI


SOURCE:WEEI


SOURCE:WEEI


SOURCE:NESN


SOURCE:NESN


SOURCE:TheAthletic


SOURCE:Boston Sports Journal

Patsfans.com

Upcoming Opponent:
Next Up: Bills
Sat
Dec 21st
Right Now At PatsFans.com:
Back On Track
After two weeks of enduring a couple of difficult losses, the Patriots got back on track with a big win out in Cincinnati on Sunday.

Current Patriots Twitter Feed:

Could Bolden have scored?

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by sb1, Dec 3, 2019.

  1. sb1

    sb1 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    10,475
    Likes Received:
    2,210
    Ratings:
    +11,844
    I know kick team can’t advance it after recovery but couldn’t he have given it a couple swats and scored on the play once it reaches the end zone? Or if the Pats were down by 3 or less couldn’t he have swatted it once to keep it in play before recovery in FG range?
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  2. FreeTedWilliams

    FreeTedWilliams Praying for SammyBlue Cat PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    11,007
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Ratings:
    +8,826
    batting the ball to yourself is perfectly legal. So yes if Bolden was able to come up with it he could have advanced it. He wouldn't have scored as the Texans had a few guys downfield from him.

    But it would have made the last 50 seconds very interesting.
     
    • Useful Useful x 3
  3. luuked

    luuked Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    17,367
    Likes Received:
    6,170
    Ratings:
    +32,469
    As far as I understand no he would not have been allowed to advance it.

     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. primetime

    primetime Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    12,203
    Likes Received:
    2,305
    Ratings:
    +12,998
    The ball is dead if it is caught or recovered by a player of the kicking team. If the catch or recovery is legal, the ball belongs to the kicking team at the dead-ball spot.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  5. Ian

    Ian Administrator Staff Member ADMINISTRATOR

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Messages:
    7,602
    Likes Received:
    4,018
    Ratings:
    +8,957
    I may be wrong, but I believe the only time it can be advanced would have been if it touched an opposing player first.

    UPDATE: Yep, I'm wrong. Onside kick rules are different:
    • The kicking team may only recover and retain possession of the kicked ball, but not advance it.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Triumph

    Triumph Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    17,486
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Ratings:
    +10,079
    Bolden was so close to getting that ball. Dude has been a money player for this team.

    Bailey was quite the pick.
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
    • Winner Winner x 2
  7. Palm Beach Pats Fan

    Palm Beach Pats Fan Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal Weekly Picks Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    8,577
    Likes Received:
    3,526
    Ratings:
    +16,892
    That would gave been quite the ending, if Bolden got it and if the offense capped it off with a TD. It would have been along the lines of the Kenbrell Thompkins catch, show ponies... where's the beef? :D
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. QuantumMechanic

    QuantumMechanic Burn it all down! PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    2,783
    Ratings:
    +16,492
    Bolden could not have scored.

    If he gained possession the play is over since the kicking team cannot advance any untouched kickoffs.

    And if he didn't gain possession it is illegal to bat the ball forward anyways, so not only would he not score but the penalty would have resulted in Houston getting the ball.
     
    • Useful Useful x 3
  9. ALP

    ALP Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    10,116
    Likes Received:
    635
    Ratings:
    +3,089
    he can bat it to himself but the moment he is deemed to have possession the play is over
     
    • Useful Useful x 2
  10. BadMoFo

    BadMoFo Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6,978
    Likes Received:
    546
    Ratings:
    +2,641
    If he was only a few inches taller.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Kdo5

    Kdo5 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13,966
    Likes Received:
    1,775
    Ratings:
    +9,827
    Why didn’t he just catch the ball when he got to it? He batted it forward instead. Was it that he wasn’t sure it passed ten yards?
     
  12. Joey007

    Joey007 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,418
    Likes Received:
    3,180
    Ratings:
    +17,932
    It hurts to think about.

    That would have been one of the most improbable comebacks in NFL history. Even crazier than the Colts Bucs game back in 2003.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. TommyBrady12

    TommyBrady12 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,821
    Likes Received:
    2,947
    Ratings:
    +19,043
    Regardless, the better team won on Sunday...we only got back into it after a couple of garbage time TDs
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. QuantumMechanic

    QuantumMechanic Burn it all down! PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    2,783
    Ratings:
    +16,492
    I think he was trying to catch it but couldn't. It was pretty high. Batting it forward does nothing. If the ball hadn't gone 10 yards his batting it wouldn't change it -- the act of him touching it in any way before 10 yards or being touched by the receiving team is a penalty. And batting it forward runs the risk of an illegal bat penalty.

    Or, hmmm.

    Perhaps it was this...perhaps the way NE practiced it was that he gets a hand on it and deflects it toward a part of the field where teammates are supposed to be so one of them can fall on it. But when the play was actually run he got such a good break on it that he actually could have just caught it but by reflex he did what he had been practicing to do and batted it.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  15. signbabybrady

    signbabybrady Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13,869
    Likes Received:
    2,889
    Ratings:
    +11,378
    Should someone taller have been in that spot?

    Was he overrunning the play why not get under it and catch instead of swatting at it? (I know easier said then done)
     
  16. fnordcircle

    fnordcircle The poster who James White said inspires him. PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,312
    Likes Received:
    4,312
    Ratings:
    +30,361
    Bolden on the sideline a minute later: OH RIGHT! Catch it! I knew I forgot something!
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
  17. Triumph

    Triumph Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    17,486
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Ratings:
    +10,079
    Bolden does his job.

    Whatever he is asked he does well. Bolden is the last player not earning his keep on this team.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  18. scott99

    scott99 Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    6,252
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Ratings:
    +5,339
    My only wish was that Bolden used 2 hands instead of one, I'm thinking he would have caught it. It all happened so fast, his instinct was to reach for it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. primetime

    primetime Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    12,203
    Likes Received:
    2,305
    Ratings:
    +12,998
    The ball was really high and he could barely get a hand up to it in time. If anything he was probably shocked it bounced cleanly to him. The Texans played it well by denying the boundary players a clean release, and Bolden didn't have the obscene reflexes and hand-eye coordination it would have taken for a clean catch.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Kdo5

    Kdo5 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13,966
    Likes Received:
    1,775
    Ratings:
    +9,827
    Watching replay of it, he definitely could have caught it. I’m not getting on his case about it though, he’s been fantastic.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page

FORUM SEARCH: CLOSE
For searches w/multiple
players add commas
(Ex: "Tom Brady, Julian Edelman")