PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

The Lockout might help us in the draft

Status
Not open for further replies.

patsfanboy

On the Game Day Roster
Reaction score
Since no player can be signed or traded before a new CBA is in place and god knows how long it will take. Now there are lots of teams that needs QBs, since they cannot acquire them by trade or by signing them, they will need to address the issue in the draft. This might mean that we can trade our 28 or any other pick to get some high second round pick with a great return value, and also hopefully some great DE might slip out, well that is just me being hopeful.

I see 5 quarterbacks gone in the first 39 picks. The open question is when teams will panic. I expect Gabbert and Newton to be in the top 4, certainly in the top 12. Ponder, Lockett and Mallett all have their supporters.

I see 5 quarterbacks gone in the first 39 picks. The open question is when teams will panic. I expect Gabbert and Newton to be in the top 4, certainly in the top 12. Ponder, Lockett and Mallett all have their supporters.

Agreed. 28 and 33 would both be great picks to trade for a QB desperate team, and there will still be 5-6 of them by the end of round 1. I expect some team will overvalue one of those picks in a trade.

Since no player can be signed or traded before a new CBA is in place and god knows how long it will take. Now there are lots of teams that needs QBs, since they cannot acquire them by trade or by signing them, they will need to address the issue in the draft. This might mean that we can trade our 28 or any other pick to get some high second round pick with a great return value, and also hopefully some great DE might slip out, well that is just me being hopeful.