PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Some things to think about during the bye week

Status
Not open for further replies.
RayClay said:
No, I'm totally serious. Some teams have great rushers like Taylor etc. who try to beat their man every play. McGinest could do that. Now we have to rely on shifting and confusion so the other team doesn't know where the rush is coming from.

We start seasons preventing the big play like against Cincinatti. Once everyone's on the same page we add more layers and leave it to guys like Bruschi and Harrison, (didn't play together last year), Seau, (hasn't fully absorbed defense), etc.

If we get too complex too soon, there is miscommunication, a hole and we give up a big play.

See part 1 "don't give up big play".

Also, if we can win early, why give other teams all our defenses to study?

I'm dead serious, although I'm not a defensive expert. There is much more "rehearsed improvising" in our defense than in other teams who rely on execution and less on deception.

Also we are playing conservative for the pass, relying on our big 3 DLine to hold the line and help stop the rush, which we are doing well. IMO.

Thank you for the added explaination. I think it's a plausible scenario, though I'm not sure exactly what factors might be involved as to the real situation. That's a pretty good hypothetical, though, and it wouldn't surprise me if there were some truth to it.

We will NEVER have a dominating pass rush running a two gap 3-4 system until we 'blitz' a fourth and fifth man from somewhere. You would need three Reggie Whites up front to really pass rush and two gap with a 3 man front. We have one guy approaching that level of play, but not three. It's a trade off, do we want to rush more or cover more? The system Belichick runs works best with an excellent secondary, because a 3 man pass rush is always sub-standard compared to a 1 gap 4 man pass rush or a Steelers style blitzing defense.