PatsFans.com - Mobile
PatsFans.com
Search

Rule Question - Just Curious

2021 Patriots Season:
Upcoming Opponent:
Next Up: vs Jets
Pick Results: NYJ: 2.1% at NE: 97.9%

Sun
Oct 24th

Current Patriots Twitter Feed:
Status
Not open for further replies.

TedyB54

On the Game Day Roster
First, let's get the legal stuff out of the way:

1) Yes, I know the Patriots won the game.
2) Yes, I understand the play I'm going to ask about had no bearing on the out come.

This is just a general question for my own edumacation ;)

The play was the Bulger pass that bounced up off a players helmet, then was almost picked by Sanders (I think) only to have it bounce off him and then ultimately caught by the Ram WR (Hall, I think).

My question is, should a flag have been thrown for an ineligible receiver (O Lineman) touching the ball first? I'm pretty sure I've seen that call made before when the QB makes a pass that hits a lineman.

Was the Rams player that got hit the TE maybe?

Again, just curious if anyone can clear that up.



Thanks!!
 

TheGodInAGreyHoodie

Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract
First, let's get the legal stuff out of the way:

1) Yes, I know the Patriots won the game.
2) Yes, I understand the play I'm going to ask about had no bearing on the out come.

This is just a general question for my own edumacation ;)

The play was the Bulger pass that bounced up off a players helmet, then was almost picked by Sanders (I think) only to have it bounce off him and then ultimately caught by the Ram WR (Hall, I think).

My question is, should a flag have been thrown for an ineligible receiver (O Lineman) touching the ball first? I'm pretty sure I've seen that call made before when the QB makes a pass that hits a lineman.

Was the Rams player that got hit the TE maybe?

Again, just curious if anyone can clear that up.



Thanks!!

No, unless QB intended to throw the ball at his helmet.
 

SpiderFox53

Third String But Playing on Special Teams
First, let's get the legal stuff out of the way:

1) Yes, I know the Patriots won the game.
2) Yes, I understand the play I'm going to ask about had no bearing on the out come.

This is just a general question for my own edumacation ;)

The play was the Bulger pass that bounced up off a players helmet, then was almost picked by Sanders (I think) only to have it bounce off him and then ultimately caught by the Ram WR (Hall, I think).

My question is, should a flag have been thrown for an ineligible receiver (O Lineman) touching the ball first? I'm pretty sure I've seen that call made before when the QB makes a pass that hits a lineman.

Was the Rams player that got hit the TE maybe?

Again, just curious if anyone can clear that up.



Thanks!!


If the play had happened last year then yes, it would have been a penalty. The NFL in thier boundless wisdom changed the rule so that if the OL is hit in the back with a pass (as in it's an accident) it is no longer a penalty.
 

FreeTedWilliams

BB's tailor
PatsFans.com Supporter
2020 Weekly NFL Picks Winner
I think that the refs, thought that a Patriot player must have touched the ball first, other than than.... You are right!

The ball hit the helmet of Oralndo Pace, who is an ineligible reciever, the rules states nothing about intended receiver.
 

TedyB54

On the Game Day Roster
If the play had happened last year then yes, it would have been a penalty. The NFL in thier boundless wisdom changed the rule so that if the OL is hit in the back with a pass (as in it's an accident) it is no longer a penalty.


Ahhh...ok, got it.

Thanks for the info.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top