PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Idle thoughts - Key question on the OL

Status
Not open for further replies.

patfanken

PatsFans.com Supporter
PatsFans.com Supporter
Reaction score
Since we are pretty much all agreed that about the only chance Denver has is if they are able to apply pressure on Brady AND stop the run, a couple of key questions have emerged due to the Pats OL injury situation. In fact a lot of questons

1. If Mankins can't play there are several ways the Pats can fill the slot, which one is the best in your opinion

a. Move Wendell into the RG postion

b. Move Wendell to C and Connolly to LG

c. Move Solder to LT and move Light to LG and have Volmer play RT (this assumes Volmer can play)

Personally I'd like to see C. happen, since I have been calling in vain for the past 5 years to see Light playing the LG spot, and I would just like to see how it would work out at least one time. ;)

2. If Volmer and Solder are both ready to play who gets the start. Volmer has missed the last half of the season and hasn't seen game speed for the last several weeks, but he's a more dominant run blocker than Solder, while Solder would seem to be better suited to take on Miller vs the pass

a. What I think we'll see is on running downs, Solder will line up as the TE next to Volmer, which will do 2 things. It will extend the LOS if the Pats want to pass from a standard 2 TE line up, and it will present a big problem for the Bronco's DC to defend vs the run as they would be out strenghted and sized on both sides of the LOS

Normally the I wouldn't fear the Denver rush much, because we have proven to be very good against speed rushers from the outside, but given the injury concerns and the fact Volmer hasn't played for around 10 weeks, gives me some cause for concern, especially early in the game, before the Denver defensive game plan becomes apparent.