Patriots Local Newsfeed:

SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:Patriots.com


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:CSNNE


SOURCE:CSNNE


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports


SOURCE:NESN


SOURCE:Boston.com


SOURCE:Patriots.com


SOURCE:NESN


SOURCE:NESN


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Boston Herald


SOURCE:Yahoo! Sports

Patsfans.com


Upcoming Opponent:
Next Up: Jaguars
Thu
Aug 10th
Right Now At PatsFans.com:
Under Fire
Tom Brady was under fire on Sunday after the Boston Globe published an article questioning his charitable giving.


Current Patriots Twitter Feed:

Can teams actually do this on kickoffs in the playoffs?

Discussion in 'NFL Football Forum' started by thenepatsrule, Jan 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ausbacker

    ausbacker TB12 PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    16,922
    Likes Received:
    1,695
    Ratings:
    +7,525
    Kick the ball through the end zone and this play is redundant. Simple solution to a simple problem.
     

  2. ctpatsfan77

    ctpatsfan77 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,874
    Likes Received:
    2,672
    Ratings:
    +8,668
    An interesting note: the rule actually gives the opposing team the ball 25 yards from the original KO spot.

    When the KO was at the 30, the rule gave the opposing team the ball 30 yards from the original KO spot—that is, still at their own 40.

    This is actually related to the Ratbirds meltdown of 2007—when Gostkowski kicked from BAL 35, if he had kicked out of bounds it would have given them the ball at the BAL 5.
     
  3. vuudu

    vuudu In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    400
    Ratings:
    +1,844
    I think you may not be reading the rule in its entirety. There is an 'or' part which states that the ball can be placed at the out of bounds point, so unless Gost had kicked it out of bounds 5 or less yds, then we would have had this advantage. But we could have gotten them under 20 though since I am sure he could have aimed that much out. I hope it makes sense. Not going to read what I have written.
     
  4. VrabelJr

    VrabelJr Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    835
    Ratings:
    +4,223
    Leon Washington did this same thing a few years ago when he was on the Jets. It's a legit rule.
     
  5. ctpatsfan77

    ctpatsfan77 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,874
    Likes Received:
    2,672
    Ratings:
    +8,668
    Yeah, that's true: it is (now) 25 yards or the actual spot the ball went out.

    I just went with the simpler version. I still think the Pats should have gone for the onside kick. ;)
     
  6. BoTown

    BoTown In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    128
    Ratings:
    +364
    The key to this is that the player is already out of bounds when he makes first contact. He couldn't pick it up inbounds and make a dash for it out of bounds and have the rule apply.
     
  7. Calhoun44

    Calhoun44 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    118
    Ratings:
    +391
    I wonder why this isn't considered an illegal touch? First to touch after being out of bounds.
     
  8. Palm Beach Pats Fan

    Palm Beach Pats Fan PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,979
    Likes Received:
    1,822
    Ratings:
    +7,887
    If he had stepped out and then came back in-bounds to field the ball, it would have been. The key was to still be out of bounds while controlling the ball.
     
  9. serifyn

    serifyn Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6
    The Patriots have done this before, i can remember at least one occasion where a smart patriots special teamer did this and i remember it from then.

    Plays like this is why you invest in a good gunner, if you can get there, or nearly there before the balls drops, it forces the punt returner to either fair catch it or let it go.

    It would be an incredibly risky play to touch the ball so close to the goal line with a gunner barreling down at you, it could potentially result in a touchdown for the kicking team. If you remember the 49ers playoff game in the NFC championship last year, the 49ers punt returner muffed the punt twice in the same game and ended up essentially costing the 49ers the game, Plays like this is why Belichick stresses the importance of field position and special teams.

    If Matthew Slater was right on top of Cobb on this play, Cobb would have likely been forced to back off and let Slater down it at the 4, which is obviously a huge difference.
     
  10. jcdavey

    jcdavey In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4,670
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2
    it's been done before, and it was praised last time too
     
  11. QuantumMechanic

    QuantumMechanic Burn it all down! PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,350
    Likes Received:
    1,605
    Ratings:
    +8,615
    This is about kickoffs, so no, Cobb couldn't let Slater down the ball, because if he did it would be NE ball.
     
  12. ctpatsfan77

    ctpatsfan77 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,874
    Likes Received:
    2,672
    Ratings:
    +8,668
    Which, effectively, is why the OOB rule is there in the first place (not necessarily this specific part of the rule).

    IMO, though, the rule should be changed so that if you have one foot OOB before you make contact with the ball, it's effectively a catch for no return.
     
  13. BoTown

    BoTown In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    128
    Ratings:
    +364
    In a similar vein, I remember in 2001, Pats at Buffalo, David Patten caught a ball and then got knocked out, fumbled, Buffalo recovered. But it was ruled Pats ball because Patten's helmet was touching out of bounds at the same time Patten's leg touched the football.

    Niagara Falls Reporter
     
  14. bresna

    bresna PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    114
    Ratings:
    +551
    Look at that video clip above. His right foot clearly gets some air while his left foot remains on the ground in-bounds. This *is* illegal touching by the Packer return man and he's lucky it didn't get called.
     
  15. captain stone

    captain stone Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,069
    Likes Received:
    634
    Ratings:
    +2,463
    I am in complete, 100% agreement. I remember very well thinking that there would be no safer
    opportunity to onsides kick than right there, right then. I was extremely disappointed that Bill
    didn't bother to attempt it.
     
  16. Palm Beach Pats Fan

    Palm Beach Pats Fan PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,979
    Likes Received:
    1,822
    Ratings:
    +7,887
    You are out-of-bounds until both feet are established in-bounds, so it doesn't really matter if his right foot is in the air or not. FWIW, it looks like he shuffles his feet but it's down anyway by the time he grabs the ball.
     
  17. brdmaverick

    brdmaverick PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,409
    Likes Received:
    479
    Ratings:
    +1,798
    I recall a Denver player doing this in the past (Champ Bailey I believe).
     
  18. brdmaverick

    brdmaverick PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,409
    Likes Received:
    479
    Ratings:
    +1,798
    Correct, the 'or' part really just relates to 'declining the penalty'.
     
  19. JMC00

    JMC00 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12,365
    Likes Received:
    4,216
    Ratings:
    +18,913
    If a Special Teams coach hasn't drilled this into their kickoff return teams brain then they are not a good Special Teams coach.
     
  20. brdmaverick

    brdmaverick PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,409
    Likes Received:
    479
    Ratings:
    +1,798
    Except this play was kickoff, live ball for both teams. Slater would have gained possession for this team.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

LOGIN | REGISTER