PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Belichick is the problem and the answer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patters

Staff member
PatsFans.com Supporter
Reaction score
I have been saying this for a few years now. The problem with having as your coach the greatest coach of the era if not of all time is that everyone mimics him, everyone studies him, and everyone tries to design their teams to beat him. The reality is that Belichick has demonstrated his ability to build a winning team whether we have Tom Brady or Matt Cassell at the helm, and he has introduced all sorts of ideas such as the art of clock management, bend but don't break, situational football, drafting players, and so on, and as a result he has changed the NFL. I think to varying degrees all teams today are a lot more like the Pats.

Obviously there are very few good coaches, let alone great ones out there. Belichick has brought the Pats into the post-season for 10 out of the last 12 years, so we are I think the most fortunate fans in the nation. Thus, this is NOT an argument to replace Belichick. Indeed, he remains our best shot at winning another Superbowl, but is there a solution? Is there a way to make a consistently great team like the Pats less of target and less studied?

I don't think there's an answer, at least until a new great coach who revolutionizes NFL football comes along. I think we have to accept that parity among the better teams has returned, and the Pats will remain contenders as long as Belichick is at the helm. Sooner or later it will be our turn to win the Superbowl again--it will happen in that fluke year when we don't have injuries to key players like Gronk and Edelman, when we're a little luckier in the draft, and when Fate gives us a few breaks on the field of play.

In the meantime, let's be thankful that year after year we get to root for our team for a few extra weeks.

Last edited: