PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Somewhat OT: Instead of DeflateGate, should we be calling this BSPNgate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NSPF

Third String But Playing on Special Teams
Reaction score
At this point, it's obvious that ESPN and the sports media at large completely missed on this one. They swung before the ball even left the pitcher's hand! While in the past ESPN has shown a clear contempt for and willingness to "push the limits" on the rules of journalism, this might be one of the most blatant and egregious examples in the history of sports. Let's face it: ESPN was caught with their pants down on this one. Even now they are attempting to backtrack: Their headline for the lastest Belichick press conference is "I'm not a scientist." They are in full damage control mode, but they are only making it worse.

It is clear that around ESPN there is a a certain "Culture of Lying" that has developed over the years-I don't think anyone would dispute that. At this point, all of their attempts to minimize and deflect on this story are falling short. All of the facts weren't out when they released their reports, but the real issue here is one of journalistic integrity. Their attempts to "stretch the rules" of journalism are clearly an attempt to give them an advantage over their competitors. ESPN apologists may claim "everybody does it" in order to reduce the blaim on their organization, but in reality this is just a sad attempt to make this better. There have been so many bizarre scandals with this news source, moving forward we should just start exclusively referring to them as BSPN.