Tag Archives: Matt Light

VIDEO: On 25 Year Anniversary Of Buying Team, Patriots Hall of Famers Thank Robert Kraft

Robert Alvarez
January 20, 2019 at 3:00 pm ET

January 21st will mark the 25th anniversary of Robert Kraft’s purchase of the New England Patriots from James Orthwein.


To honor the occasion, a few Patriots team Hall of Famer members shared some personal congratulatory messages to Mr. Kraft.

For more on the anniversary, be sure to also check out a new story by PatsFans own Bob George highlighting some of most seminal moments in Patriots history.

Best Of Social Media: Matt Light Enshrined In Patriots Hall Of Fame

Robert Alvarez
September 29, 2018 at 8:01 pm ET

On Saturday, offensive tackle Matt Light was enshrined into the New England Patriots Hall of Fame.

Light, who spent his entire 11-year NFL career with the Patriots from 2001-2011, was voted in by the fans as the Hall’s 27th member, beating out linebacker Mike Vrabel and defensive tackle Richard Seymour this past May.

During his tenure, Light was selected to three Pro Bowls and the Patriots All 2000’s and 50th Anniversary teams.

Check out some of the best sights and sounds from his induction weekend below.



Matt Light Inducted Into Patriots Hall Of Fame

Robert Alvarez
May 16, 2018 at 5:37 pm ET

On Wednesday, the New England Patriots formally announced that offensive tackle Matt Light was voted by the fans to be inducted into the team’s Hall of Fame for 2018, beating out defensive end Richard Seymour and linebacker Mike Vrabel.

Light, who spent his entire 11-year NFL career as a Patriot from 2001-2011, played a key role in protecting quarterback Tom Brady’s blind side for three Super Bowl championships in five appearances.  Light joins former teammates Kevin Faulk, Troy Brown, and Tedy Bruschi as the only members of the team Hall of Fame with three Super Bowl rings.

Light was named to the Patriots’ 50th Anniversary Team in 2009 and earned Pro Bowl honors following the 2006, 2007 and 2010 seasons.  He earned first team All Pro in 2007, blocking for an offense that set a then-NFL record 589 total points and 75 touchdowns in a perfect regular season.

Patriots owner and CEO Robert Kraft issued a statement following the news of Light’s selection.

“For 11 seasons, Matt’s many accomplishments, both on and off the field, made him the consummate Patriot, His contributions helped the Patriots become champions on the field and in the community. For more than a decade, Matt fearlessly protected Tom Brady’s blind side and played an immeasurably important role in delivering three Super Bowl titles and five conference championships. As proud as I am of Matt’s many contributions to those championship teams, I truly believe that his lasting legacy will be measured by the many positive things he and his wife, Susie, have done to help others in the community. Their investment in the lives of children will pay dividends for generations to come.”  

According to the Patriots, “Light’s induction ceremony will be held on the NRG Plaza outside The Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon on Saturday, Sept. 29, at a time yet to be determined. The outdoor hall of fame ceremony is free and open to the public. Fans of all ages are welcome and encouraged to attend. In addition, Light will be honored with a halftime ceremony during the Patriots home game against the Miami Dolphins on Sunday, Sept. 30.”

Light is the 27th person to be inducted in the Patriots Hall of Fame since its official formation in 1991.

Patriots Announce 2018 Team Hall Of Fame Finalists

Robert Alvarez
April 18, 2018 at 2:15 pm ET

The finalists for the Patriots Hall Of Fame Class of 2018 were announced Wednesday.

Offensive tackle Matt Light, defensive lineman Richard Seymour and linebacker Mike Vrabel were selected as the three finalists.

Light makes the ballot for the first time in 2018, while Seymour is a finalist for a second consecutive season and Vrabel will attempt to make it in The Hall on his third straight appearance.

The ballot marks the first time all three finalists played together as teammates. From 2001-2008 the trio helped the Patriots to six AFC East titles, five AFC Championship game appearances, and the franchises first three Super Bowl championships.

This years selection will mark the 27th person to be enshrined in the The Hall at Patriot Place.

You can checkout the following video profiles on each finalist below and cast your vote HERE.

Best Of Social Media: The New England Patriots Championship Banner Ceremony

Robert Alvarez
September 11, 2017 at 12:00 pm ET

While Thursday nights outcome wasn’t what Patriots fans had hoped for, the opening night pregame ceremony was still a sight to behold as it finally closed the book on the teams 2016 championship season.

Some of the best sights and sounds from the pregame atmosphere can be seen below, beginning with NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell’s brief appearance on the field, and the crowd response.

“Operation Clown Face” dubbed Barstool Sports founder David Portnoy appeared to be a complete success as the clown towels could be seen all around the lower bowl near Goodell.

In an interview with WBZ TV’s Steve Burton following his appearance on field, Goodell was quoted saying ““These fans are passionate, they’re loyal, they love the game and I totally get their reaction, so it’s fun to be here and it’s the kickoff to the season.”

As Goodell walked off, Brady took the field, neither interacted.

As for the moment everyone was waiting for, the banner ceremony kicked off with a performance from “Flo Rida” and actor Mark Wahlberg on the microphone introducing Patriots alumni and a current Patriot from five massive on field Lombardi trophies, accompanied by banners.

Kevin Faulk, Matt Light, Deion Branch, and Julian Edelman all taking the field with the hardware beside team owner Robert Kraft.

The ceremony also contained references to the Super Bowl score pre-comeback all throughout Gillette Stadium.

Banner number five revealed.

With the banner officially raised, the New England Patriots can finally fulfill head coach Bill Belichick’s long standing wishes, who continues to be sick of people living in the past during his post game press conference following the disappointing 42-17 loss that put a damper on the festivities.

We’re onto New Orleans.

Former Patriots LB Jerod Mayo Thanks Team For Taking Number Out Of Use

Robert Alvarez
May 14, 2016 at 8:43 pm ET

In recent years, the New England Patriots have created a trend where notable players who have retired or traded have had their jersey numbers temporarily taken out of circulation for a few seasons out of respect for their contributions to the team. Add former linebacker Jerod Mayo as the most recent recipient of the honor. Mayo responded to the news on his Instagram account Friday.


Mayo becomes the fourth recent Patriot to be given the honor. Beginning in 2009, Tedy Bruschi’s number 54 was withheld from circulation for two seasons before it was assigned to tackle Brian Waters in 2011, and currently Dont’a Hightower. Matt Light, Logan Mankins, and Vince Wilfork also were given a respect period as researched by PatsPulpit’s Rich Hill.

The Patriots have not officially retired a number since Bruce Armstrong’s 78 in 2001. Only seven total Patriots have had their number retired, following Armstrong is 20 for Geno Cappelletti, 40 Mike Haynes, 57 Steve Nelson, 73 John Hannah, 79 Jim Lee Hunt and 89 Bob Dee.