PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Warren Moon: NFL is boring - we need a farm league like NFL Europe for young QBs

Status
Not open for further replies.
So for $30 million you could fund NFL Europe for 16 seasons or Darelle Revis for two seasons?

I've played in a semi-professional team in the Netherlands for awhile. I can say that there's no way to compare the quality, even from the NCAA to there. I could see one, maybe 2 guys being worth a training camp squad. The exception, i would say, is in OL positions. I've seen some huuuge boys playing (Vollmer style). lackluster skill-wise, for sure, but with excellent physical acumen.

That being said, 90% of the teams only train twice a week, with varying degrees of participation. If they were paid to play and went through rigorous training, i can see some players being imported from Europe

If I'm a college coach I'm doing everything I can to win games, not develop QBs for the NFL. The NCAA coaches figured that out some time ago and went back to running QBs.

Completely agree 60. College coaches have one job, win games. They have no responsibility to be a farm for the NFL or to prepare the player for the NFL.
Putting in a complex pro style passing game for a college offense is going to be more difficult (and probably significantly more unlikely to succeed) than having an offense who relies on a QB whose dynamism gets it done (satisfactory passing + excellent rushing production = success).
College owes the NFL nothing! IMHO college should remain as it is (side note: my only issue with college is the gross hypocrisy of bringing in star players who sometimes have little chance of passing the entrance exam -- meaning they're not currently at the scholastic level to absorb the benefit of a higher education -- yet colleges call a "a free college education" their compensation while not allowing them to earn any $$$.