PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Journalistic mathemathics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kato

On the Roster
Reaction score
OK, I'm eating up every article about the Pats like I do every season.

The thing that is killing me is the different Tom Brady TD projections that I see in various places. Now, I'm an engineer, so I may have the math thing down pat.

He has 21 TDs in 6 games which is 3.5 per game.

3.5 TDs/game times 16 games is EXACTLY 56.

Yet, some are saying he's on pace for 57, or 58, or 55. See Rich Eisen's article on NFL.com for an example of the 57 TD projection.

http://www.nfl.com/nflnetwork/story?id=09000d5d8035a479&template=with-video&confirm=true

"Brady now has a stupefying 21 -- 21! -- touchdowns through six games, easily on pace to throw for a silly 57 touchdowns -- 57 touchdowns! -- which would disintegrate Peyton Manning's record of 49."

Don't you think that these guys would check their math? Or am I being too much of an critical engineer?

Re: journalistic mathematics

It would be understandable if it were a rounding problem, but it's not.

Looks like some folks need to lrn2math...hehe.

Maybe their factoring the Moss one that was improperly called back? :confused:

If they could do math, they wouldn't have become journalists...

The thing that is killing me is the different Tom Brady TD projections that I see in various places. Now, I'm an engineer, so I may have the math thing down pat.

Yet, some are saying he's on pace for 57, or 58, or 55. See Rich Eisen's article on NFL.com for an example of the 57 TD projection.

http://www.nfl.com/nflnetwork/story?id=09000d5d8035a479&template=with-video&confirm=true

"Brady now has a stupefying 21 -- 21! -- touchdowns through six games, easily on pace to throw for a silly 57 touchdowns -- 57 touchdowns! -- which would disintegrate Peyton Manning's record of 49."