Boston Boxer

U.S. Air Force Retired
PatsFans.com Supporter
2020 Weekly Picks Winner
2022 Weekly Picks Winner
2023 Weekly Picks Winner
Reaction score
here is a remark i read this morning...

"David Givens, New England: He and Troy Brown are solid if unspectacular Patriot receivers available this offseason. In today's NFL, Givens is the type of player not exciting enough to warrant a long look from other teams, who will end up signing with his previous team for a reasonable amount."

I hope everyone in the league thinks this way, then he can re sign with the Pats

I think that there will be enough coveters of Givens, esp. Mangini, Saban, and Crennel, that he won't come back. Hope I'm wrong.

I for one, think we may indeed overvalue him. While he has come up with some big plays, I question his route running ability. I'm no expert, but it seem he's "in the wrong place" quite a bit. Just my take. Does anyone else feel that often times he and Brady just are'nt on the same page?

Just check out any list of available free agent wide receivers. Givens is always in the top 5.

We value him correctly

I don’t think we over value him because I have not heard one person say we need to re-sign him at any cost. Most posts I have seen have him getting a pretty small deal from the Pats. I do think SOME OTHER TEAM will over pay to get him. Look at the teams out there that desperately need a WR.

Receptions
WR #1 WR#2
Falcons 50 36
Panthers 103 25
Bears 64 31
Eagles* 48 43 *Owens had 47 receptions be he will be gone
Bucs 83 32
Redskins 84 22

Panthers, Bucs and Redskins all have #1 WR but all could use an upgrade at #2. Falcons, Bears and Eagles all lack a #1 (which Givens isn’t) but it only takes one of these teams to make a big offer for him to leave.