Welcome to PatsFans.com

Dear NFL Announcers

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by PatsFaninAZ, Jan 14, 2007.

  1. PatsFaninAZ

    PatsFaninAZ Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,097
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    This is a very very simple point: When a coach has used a challenge in a half, he doesn't get another one. He's got to wait until the time is short enough and hope for booth review.

    It was embarrassing today watching the announcers blather on and on about whether or not plays should be challenged after the coaches had used them.

    I suppose Indy running a quick snap and basically giving up a down on a play to avoid a challenge after Baltimore had already use theirs was just adding fuel to the fire.

    The funny thing was that the guys in the Indy/Balt game understood that once Indy used its third timeout, they couldn't challenge. You'd think the would have understood the much simpler point that you only get one per half.
  2. alamo

    alamo praedica numerum! PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,356
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0

    Except, that's not true. They get two per game, not one per half. They also get a third if the first two are both successful.
  3. Hok

    Hok Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    :rofl:

    The irony!

    Before lecturing people on not understanding simple points, it's best to understand what you're talking about. Coaches get two (and a third, if the first two are successful) challenges PER GAME, not one PER HALF.
  4. Michael

    Michael Moderator Staff Member PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0

    #12 Jersey

    I just wish that Cabbage Patch doll Gumbel could remember it's a football game. It's quarters not periods.

    Also wait until you know what has happened before reporting it. "Manning throws the ball away." Seconds later "Oh, no he found a receiver. Completed pass." "Manning..INTERCEPTED. Oh no ball was tipped." Just shuddup. :rolleyes:
  5. fleabassist1

    fleabassist1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,104
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    #12 Jersey

    I thought they get two per game, and another if they both go their way?

  6. PatsFaninAZ

    PatsFaninAZ Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,097
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    Dear message board posters:

    Don't get indignant about a rule you don't understand!

    Oops -- obvioulsy a brain fart on my part.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>