Welcome to PatsFans.com

Why wasn't the Cromartie INT a safety?

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by MustaphaM0nd, Sep 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MustaphaM0nd

    MustaphaM0nd Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    YouTube - Antonio Cromartie Interception against the Patriots

    I hate to complain, but its something I was thinking about when it happened during the game.

    heres the video for reference. During 00:19 to 00:20 he catches the ball and tucks it under his arm immediately (showing his return man instincts), appearing to establish possession somewhere between the 3 and the 2.
    Then he gets tackled by Moss in the endzone.


    Do I just not understand the rules? Can someone please enlighten me how the safety rule works?
  2. Rob0729

    Rob0729 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    29,687
    Likes Received:
    193
    Ratings:
    +420 / 5 / -1

    That was my initial reaction that it was a safety. But the rule is that when a player intercepts the ball and his momentum brings him into the endzone and he is downed, the ball is placed at the spot of the interception.
  3. boston22407

    boston22407 Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    close play and call
  4. ctpatsfan77

    ctpatsfan77 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,401
    Likes Received:
    110
    Ratings:
    +180 / 4 / -5

    The safety rule is based on the notion of "impetus." In order for a safety to occur, the action that brought the ball into the endzone must have "begun" with the player on offense.

    As an example, if a running back starts a run in the endzone, gets out to the 2, then gets pushed back by the defense into the EZ, it's not a safety. But if he takes the ball at the 2, goes into the EZ to try to get to the outside and gets tackled while still in the EZ, that's a safety.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>