PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Proof of Exponent's Incompetence

tom.kordis

Practice Squad Player
Reaction score
[Part 1]
I just sent this letter to Roger Goddell. I'm pessimistic about any effect it might have, but I thought I'd post it here.

In short, Exponent's model for their "Patriots' Wet Football" was fatally flawed by virtue of being massively "under-wet".
Their model gave them their "Warming Time Constant" and "Equilibrium Pressure" for their "undeflated Patriots football".

Since the Patriots' footballs did not match their model, they concluded that "someone delated the balls".
Exponent's assumptions are wrong, their model is wrong, and their conclusions are wrong.

Here's absolute proof of that assertion.
__

[Letter to Roger Goodell & Troy Vincent]

Sirs,

By way of introduction, I have been a mechanical engineer for the past 41 years. I have a vast background in designing, executing and writing Engineering Test Reports for a wide range of engineering firms & agencies, including NASA, Boeing, the FDA & many others.

In short, I know what I am talking about. This is my profession.
You really should listen very carefully to what I am about to tell you:

You are on a course to give yourselves a reputation as the most profoundly incompetent buffoons in Sports History.

Nobody deflated any footballs during the Patriots/Colts game in January, 2015.
The simple fact that you were not capable of determining this self evident fact in about 4 minutes with a pen, a scrap of paper & a calculator simply proves your ignorance of the technical issues.

Please don’t be insulted by my statement above. The physics of gasses is not your field.
Nonetheless, as uncomfortable as it may make you feel, my statement is completely accurate.