New England Patriots > Patriots Blog > Patriots News

Nine Current and Former New England Patriots Named To NFL’s All Decade Team

Nine Current and Former New England Patriots Named To NFL’s All Decade Team

Robert Alvarez
April 7, 2020 at 5:01 pm ET

On Monday, The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s selection committee announced the members of the 2010s All-Decade Team.

With playoff appearances in every season of the decade, five trips to the Super Bowl, and three championships, it’s no surprise eight players with New England Patriots ties and head coach Bill Belichick earned spots on the team.

Belichick and quarterback Tom Brady earned All-Decade honors for the second consecutive decade as Brady was one of the eight unanimous selections to the 2010’s team.

The Belichick/Brady duo continued their mastery of the NFL during the decade.

In 2010, Belichick was named the AP Coach of the Year and led the Patriots to a league-best 141-42 record over the decade, an AFC East division title each season, five conference titles and three championships.

Belichick’s Patriots made the AFC Championship game eight consecutive seasons from 2011-2018 for an NFL record and won 11 or more games each year, also a league record.

As for Brady, more eye popping statistics and accolades continued into decade number two of his career. Two regular season MVP awards in 2010 and 2017 along with two additional Super Bowl MVP awards in 2014 and 2016 were added to Brady’s trophy case.

Other longtime Patriots named to the team included tight end Rob Gronkowski (2010-2018), kicker Stephen Gostkowski (2006-2019), and guard Logan Mankins (2005-2013).

In nine professional seasons, Gronkowski was selected to five Pro-Bowls and four All-Pro’s, setting a league record for tight end touchdowns in a season with 17 in 2011. Gronkowski finished his career with 79 regular season touchdowns and three Super Bowl rings.

Kicker Stephen Gostkowski took over for Super Bowl hero Adam Vinatieri in 2006 and continued a tradition of consistency at the position into the 2010’s for the Patriots.

Gostkowski earned three Pro Bowl selections (2012-2015), a first-team All-Pro in 2015 and second-team All-Pro in 2014 during the decade.

In the 2010’s Gostkowski set the Patriots franchise record for scoring and NFL record for consecutive extra points made at 479.

Lastly, guard Logan Mankins was one of the NFL’s premiere offensive linemen during the 2010’s.

Mankins earned five Pro Bowl selections during the decade was a first-team All Pro in 2010, and made the second team from 2011-2013.

Super Bowl XLIX champions Chandler Jones (2012-2015) and Darrelle Revis (2014) along with Super Bowl LIII champion Cordarrelle Patterson (2018) and Antonio Brown (one week 2019), round out the list of additional players with Patriots ties making the All-Decade Team.  

Posted Under: 2020 Patriots Offseason NFL News Patriots News
Tags: Antonio Brown Bill Belichick Chandler Jones Cordarrelle Patterson Darrelle Revis Logan Mankins Rob Gronkowski Stephen Gostkowski Tom Brady

Comments are closed.


Search For Links: - CLOSE
For searches with multiple players
add commas (Ex: "Bill Belichick, Devin McCourty")