PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Scouting Report: Lynden Trail, DE/OLB

Also, I could use some feedback, positive or negative, on the actual reports. This is my first year putting these out for public view and would love to know what you guys think. Is there anything else you would like to see in the reports?

Nice job. I find it a bit surprising that you gave trail only a mid day 3 grade given your write up, which seems quite a bit more positive. He has a lot of upside, athleticism and versatility.

I'd be curious to see you take a look at Virginia DE/OLB Max Valles, who just declared. RS soph, but extremely athletic. I'm also curious what you think of Trail compared with Danielle Hunter, another very long and fluid guy with a ton of versatility.

As a general comment, since you specifically ask for feedback, I find your reports very clear and concise, but sometimes a bit restrained and equivocal. That could be your personality, or a function of inexperience and not being as sure of yourself. I sometimes feel like I'm trying to read in between the lines to get a sense of how you really feel about some of these guys. I often find the most useful scouting reports the ones where guys go out on a limb and take a stance, especially if it runs counter to the conventional grain. To me the most useful scouting reports are the ones which get me to rethink how I look at a player, or pique me to want to go back and look and more tape and see if I've missed something. Eventually, I want to figure out which of these many guys at a given position are the ones that I want to hypothetically invest in, which ones I believe have what it takes to develop and eventually excel.

But again, I'm nitpicking only because you specifically ask for critical feedback. I'm grateful for your reports, and look forward to more.

I enjoy that this guy has played literally all over on defense. That is the kind of guy that BB loves

Thanks Mayo for the feedback.