PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Player Specific Tracking Data

Status
Not open for further replies.
IF? Adams will be on that the second it becomes available.

I can’t remember his name but the Patriots have an IT guy that is already doing draft work in this area. I think he’s the guy they would task with this.

Problem with the tracking data, like all Big Data, is that there's so much crap and basically no way to test the validity of any model you could use to query it. Effectively, with that much informatiin and no real context to it, you can make something that will tell you whatever you want to hear. I'm skeptical there's anything useful at all in there besides noise. (Note I'm a social scientist and statistician by profession, so my skepticism comes with an insider's eye).

Problem with the tracking data, like all Big Data, is that there's so much crap and basically no way to test the validity of any model you could use to query it. Effectively, with that much informatiin and no real context to it, you can make something that will tell you whatever you want to hear. I'm skeptical there's anything useful at all in there besides noise. (Note I'm a social scientist and statistician by profession, so my skepticism comes with an insider's eye).

Fair points, but there's also a desired outcome here, rather than just looking at trends (not to say that all you do is just look at trends -- but I think you catch my meaning). Coaches might look for certain "success cases" and then use the data to determine who fulfills the criteria the best, rather than just aggregating data and massaging it until the like the way it looks.

And yet some Pats fans I talk to don't even know who he is. Incredible.

24o1vo.jpg

Ernie Adams has been tracking similar stuff - and adding the context to make it meaningful and useful - for decades, probably using paper and pencil. So his models are well-tested.