OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email - New England Patriots Forums - PatsFans.com Patriots Fan Messageboard
NEWS
|
FORUM
|
PHOTOS
|
VIDEOS
|
FULL STATS DATABASE
|
PODCAST
|
RUMOR MILL
Get Social With PatsFans.com
Early Roster Projection
Ryan's Journey Started Early
POST DRAFT PODCAST

Go Back   New England Patriots Forums - PatsFans.com Patriots Fan Messageboard > PatsFans.com Forums > PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum
Forgot Password? Join PatsFans.com!
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read Chat Room

WELCOME TO OUR FORUM HERE AT PATSFANS.COM!
ARE YOU NEW HERE? NOT LOGGED IN? PLEASE TAKE A MOMENT TO REGISTER FOR AN ACCOUNT AND LOGIN TO REMOVE THIS WINDOW

Welcome to PatsFans.com. Do you have an account? If not - please take a moment to register for our forum and experience a much smoother experience with fewer ads, along with no longer having to see this notification window. Also learn about how you can receive a free Patriots T-Shirt from the Patriots Official ProShop by CLICKING HERE. Please enjoy your stay here, and Go Pats!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 12:21 PM   #1
Ian
Administrator
 
Ian's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 4,444
Blog Entries: 3
My Mood: Blah
Default OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

I've gotten a few of these and I can't shut this idiot down, but these e-mails are being sent out:

Quote:
FROM: patsfans.com support
Subject: patsfans.com account notification

Dear Customer,

This e-mail was send by patsfans.com to notify you that we have temporanly prevented
access to your account.

We have reasons to beleive that your account may have been accessed by someone else.
Please run this file and Follow instructions:

http://www.boguslink+information

(C) patsfans.com
I'm assuming you guys know it's not being sent from us in the event you've gotten one, but if you do get one please delete it. Some Vietnamese idiot is sending these (their server is in Vietnam) and I'm not having any luck having him shut down so far. Needless to say just wanted to make people aware so no one runs that file that they're prompting for.

Ian
__________________
--
PatsFans.com - Dedicated to the Best Fans on Earth

Facebook
Become A Fan of / I mean "Like" PatsFans.com On Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Twitter Feeds

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ian is online now  
FEATURED ADVERTISEMENT
DONATE TO PATSFANS.COM
RECEIVE A FREE PATS T-SHIRT AND SAVE 15% OFF WHEN YOU BUY FROM THE OFFICIAL PROSHOP!

Free T-Shirt & Save 15% Off!
Like Our Site? Please help support our site and server costs by DONATING TO PATSFANS.COM and receive a FREE PATRIOTS T-SHIRT and SAVE 15% off EVERY purchase you make from PatriotsProShop.com. You'll also receive added benefits to your account
including Removing All Ads During Your Experience Here At Our Forum.

NEEDED YEARLY SITE DONATIONS: 345 | CURRENT # OF SUBSCRIBED SUPPORTERS: 98

Updated 07/08/11

Help Us Reach Our Goal!

Old 05-06-2010, 12:22 PM   #2
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,025
My Mood: Twisted
Default Re: OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

I hate that crap. Good luck in shutting him down.
NEGoldenAge is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:26 PM   #3
PatsFans.com Supporter
 
Gwedd's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bath, Maine
Posts: 4,380
My Mood: Busy
Default Re: OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

Thganks for the warning, Ian.

I get similar crap all the time. Real websites will use your name, and not "dear PatsFan", etc.
Gwedd is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:26 PM   #4
Practice Squad
 
Patsfan76's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 138
My Mood: Happy
Default Re: OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
I've gotten a few of these and I can't shut this idiot down, but these e-mails are being sent out:



I'm assuming you guys know it's not being sent from us in the event you've gotten one, but if you do get one please delete it. Some Vietnamese idiot is sending these (their server is in Vietnam) and I'm not having any luck having him shut down so far. Needless to say just wanted to make people aware so no one runs that file that they're prompting for.

Ian
Thanks for the heads up. So far I haven't received anything like that.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Patsfan76 is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:28 PM   #5
Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,177
My Mood: Mellow
Default Re: OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwedd View Post
Thganks for the warning, Ian.

I get similar crap all the time. Real websites will use your name, and not "dear PatsFan", etc.
No website will ever email you asking for you to run something, login or provide any information.
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary and those who do not.
emoney_33 is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:37 PM   #6
PatsFans.com Supporter
 
Joker's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 12,476
My Mood: Amused
Default Re: OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

oooops..,.think I might have screwed up...I got this e-mail just like the one posted above except it was from "Discount Russian Brides"...I sent them the $49.95...dyam...guess I'm screwed...and I was just getting the pronunciation of Svetlana down
Joker is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:41 PM   #7
PatsFans.com Supporter
 
Leave No Doubt's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 5,609
Default Re: OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan76 View Post
Thanks for the heads up. So far I haven't received anything like that.

Ditto, nothing here yet but good info to know just in case.
__________________
edit...2012 BABY!
Leave No Doubt is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:56 PM   #8
Third String But Playing on Special Teams
 
Brady2Welker's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 891
My Mood: Drunk
Default Re: OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

While there's a tech-ish thread up; Is the redirect popup ad I'm getting here an actual ad, or is it spyware?
Brady2Welker is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 01:26 PM   #9
Pats, B's, Sox
 
DaBruinz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sacshe, TX (by way of Salem,NH)
Posts: 22,621
My Mood: Amused
Default Re: OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

Ian - too bad you don't know a good hacker who could send their server a "present" that would shut them down for good..
DaBruinz is online now  
Old 05-06-2010, 01:45 PM   #10
Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal
 
Patspsycho's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 20 minutes from Foxboro
Posts: 9,930
Default Re: OT: "PatsFans.com Support" Phishing Email

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joker View Post
oooops..,.think I might have screwed up...I got this e-mail just like the one posted above except it was from "Discount Russian Brides"...I sent them the $49.95...dyam...guess I'm screwed...and I was just getting the pronunciation of Svetlana down
For $49.95, you get what you pay for!
Patspsycho is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Sponsored Links



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Joe" the "Plumber": "McCain Used Me;" Obama "Honest Politician" PatsFanInVa Political Discussion 18 02-16-2010 08:12 PM
Is it "dove" or "dived"? "Sneaked" or "snuck"? State The PatsFans.com Pub 6 06-11-2009 08:22 AM
Shula: "Patriots", "Bonds", and "asterisk" in one sentence! --NY Daily News sam PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum 53 11-06-2007 01:15 PM
These Organizations Support The Obliteration Of "Freedom"... Terry Glenn is a cowgirl Political Discussion 11 06-25-2007 12:20 AM
US Soldier email to Rep. Walter Jones (R) - "Get us the fock out of here." mikey Political Discussion 25 06-20-2006 02:16 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

© Copyright 2000-2012. PatsFans.com Is a Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties.
The opinions posted in this forum do not necessarily reflect the opinions of our staff at PatsFans.com or USA Today.
We are not affiliated with the New England Patriots™ or the NFL™. The Photo Used In the header was taken by Ian Logue.

This site is owned and operated by I&K Internet Design Enterprises, LLC