ProFootballTalk.com - COWBOYS COULDN’T HAVE RECOVERED THE BALL
COWBOYS COULDN’T HAVE RECOVERED THE BALL
Posted by Mike Florio on September 16, 2008, 11:26 a.m.
Appearing on Tuesday’s Dan Patrick Show, NFL director of officiating Mike Pereira explained that the Dallas Cowboys could not have recovered the loose ball that receiver DeSean Jackson discarded as he was on the doorstep of the end zone during Monday night’s game.
The outcome, then, is the same as it was on Sunday between the Chargers and the Broncos. The ball was dead when it hit the ground.
The key is that, in Jackson’s case, the ruling is that he was throwing a backward pass. By rule, the review of the touchdown call resulted in the ball being down where it landed.
The point here, then, is that the officials screwed up as badly as Jackson. None of them noticed that Jackson had dropped the ball before he was in the end zone.
Moving forward, the question is whether the rule will change. Pereira explained that, when the down-by-contact rule was changed to permit efforts to recover a loose ball after the whistle, the owners considered applying the same rule to the Hochuli situation, where a fumble was ruled an incomplete pass. Pereira said that, because the ball will bounce more freely in such situations, a decision was made not to allow the action to continue after the whistle.
That’s fine, but unless and until the officials are trained to err on the side of not blowing the whistle, fairness requires a procedure that allows teams who have forced turnover to enjoy the benefit of their efforts.
ProFootballTalk.com - MONDAY NIGHT GAFFE NO DIFFERENT THAN HOCHULI CALL
MONDAY NIGHT GAFFE NO DIFFERENT THAN HOCHULI CALL
Posted by Mike Florio on September 16, 2008, 8:52 p.m.
Although referee Ed Hochuli continues to receive plenty of criticism for his outcome-altering error during Sunday’s game between the Chargers and the Broncos, his mistake is no different than the blunder made on Monday night by the officials who determined that Eagles receiver DeSean Jackson had crossed the goal line with the ball in his possession when he hadn’t.
And we’re not really surprised by news that Hochuli will be “downgraded” for his error. That’s simply the way it works. Each week, officials are graded based on their performances. The best get plum postseason assignments. The worst get fired.
In Hochuli’s case, he’d be relegated to one of the various non-referee officiating roles before he’d be fired. Neither is likely to occur. NFL officiating czar Mike Pereira made clear during Tuesday’s Dan Patrick Show that Hochuli is safe.