Patriots Announce 2010 Captains

Ian Logue
September 10, 2010 at 11:53am ET

Matthew Slater returns to Patriots on two-year deal
Patriots tackle Tony Garcia says he is 'cleared to play again'
Jason McCourty excited to follow Devin's winning ways
Danny Shelton eager to contribute to New England Patriots' success
Guregian: Danny Shelton ready to lean on Vince Wilfork for advice

Heading into Sunday's season opener against the Cincinnati Bengals, Ian Rapoport of the Boston Herald reported on Friday that the team has announced their 2010 captains.

Head coach Bill Belichick announced that RB Kevin Faulk, NT Vince Wilfork, QB Tom Brady and LB Jerod Mayo are the captains for your 2010 New England Patriots.

“I think that’s a great selection by the team,” Belichick told the media on Friday. “Those four guys have all been in that role before, have done all the things that, I would say, if I were voting for captains, those four guys have done all the things you’d want your captains to do for this particular season, which is really what everything is based on. We have a lot of other good leadership on the team, I think there’s a lot of other players that have significant leadership roles on the team, whether they’re captains or not, that really doesn’t have anything to do with the player’s leadership.

“There are a lot of other guys that could’ve been captains that are good leaders for the team, but these four will do a great job. They were selected by the team and that’s a good selection.”

Rapoport also notes that Randy Moss, who had been a captain the past two seasons, is not one this season.

Prior to today's announcement, Mayo had been the lone captain during each of the team's preseason games.  So good news for him, as he'll no longer be alone at midfield before the start of each game.