PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

With the 21st Pick of the 2006 NLF Draft the New England Patriots Select...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Water Boy

In the Starting Line-Up
Reaction score

Sinorice Moss

All right. Hear me out on this for a minute. I have been pondering the draft for the past three months. The general assumption is the Pats will draft the best available LB (Greenway, Carpenter, Lawson) or RB (Williams, Maroney, White (prior to his hammy)) in round 1. There is also the CB Richard Marshall contingent.

With respect to the LB prospects, there doesn't seem to be a concensus "can't miss" first round pick. Lawson has the measurables, but does he have the skill? Greenway had the production in college but will it translate into the pros? Carpenter has the measurables and skill, but he's been labelled a head case.

With respect to RBs, I just don't see the Pats using a first round pick on this position. Corey Dillion will gain 1,000 yards next season... and you can quote me on that.

Although I like Marshall a lot, I think the Pats may not see him as worthy of the 21st pick.

Without a doubt, the Patriot's greatest area of need is WR. Right now the depth chart includes Branch, Caldwell, Brown and Bethel. Who is left in free agency who could solidify the WR corps? As I see it right now, barring a trade, the Patriots need to draft at least two WRs who have the potential to contribute immediately. I think Moss fits the bill in round 1. Yes he's a smurf, but he's fast, has good hands and runs crisp routes. He's arguably the most likely WR prospect to have an immediate impact in year 1. Adding Hass, Stovall, or Nance in round 2 or 3 could help round out the Pats WR corps.

This would give us a WR depth chart of: Branch, Moss, Caldwell,[Hass, Stovall, Nance], Brown, Bethel (assuming he's on the team)

Under this scenario I can envision a day 1 Pats draft that looks something like:

1. WR Sinorice Moss