PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

salary cap explanation needed

marwin2510

Rookie
2021 Weekly Picks Winner
Reaction score
I am regular on NFL Salary Cap, Player Contracts, Salaries, Bonuses and Analysis | Over the Cap trying to keep up with player cap numbers and overall available team cap, but I am still new to this and trying to learn it all.
How come that now we turned to 2022 OTC shows that NE has almost 16M$ to spend on 2021 season? I am pretty sure that last time I checked in 2021. we were well below 3 or 4M mark.
Is this money really now available for spending on some free agent?

I am regular on NFL Salary Cap, Player Contracts, Salaries, Bonuses and Analysis | Over the Cap trying to keep up with player cap numbers and overall available team cap, but I am still new to this and trying to learn it all.
How come that now we turned to 2022 OTC shows that NE has almost 16M$ to spend on 2021 season? I am pretty sure that last time I checked in 2021. we were well below 3 or 4M mark.

I am not a salary cap guy. The only way I know that the cap would grow is the LTBE are initially included in the cap calc, and as the season nears an end those LTBE dollars are not earned. But it does not seem like this would be $3M to $16M. Of course we traded Gilmore so a portion of his salary came off the cap.

I am not a salary cap guy. The only way I know that the cap would grow is the LTBE are initially included in the cap calc, and as the season nears an end those LTBE dollars are not earned. But it does not seem like this would be $3M to $16M. Of course we traded Gilmore so a portion of his salary came off the cap.
Maybe it was N’Keal‘s likely to be earned incentives?

seriously though, the only recent action was the re-signing of Phillips. They could have moved a few M down the road with that deal.

Here is the estimated cap (subject to change)

1641163951503.png