Votes: 1 4.5%
  • Vodka

Votes: 1 4.5%
  • Other

Votes: 5 22.7%

• Total voters

sean10mm

Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job
I didn't see any threads like this so I figured I'd start one to talk about your favorite distilled spirits, hooches, moonshines, etc.

My preference right now is bourbon generally. I'm far from an expert, but I'd rank the ones I've had recently something like this:
  1. Henry McKenna 10 year single barrel - For the $35ish I got this bottle it was crazy good. The problem is that apparently whiskey hipsters are a thing and they bought it all up after it won some awards so it's impossible to find around here and massively scalped online. RIP to a real one.
  2. Knob Creek 9 year - On the flipside, Knob Creek is in stock everywhere and nobody seems to give a crap, but for $32.99 this was delicious stuff. The HM 10 year is maybe a bit more ~complex~ but the Knob Creek is, to me, exactly what you want bourbon to be like. For 100 proof the burn isn't bad either.
  3. Eagle Rare 10 year - When it barely cost more than midrange bourbon it was pretty damn good. Now that bourbon hipsters go mental for everything coming out of Buffalo Trace's distillery it's impossible to find without being marked up to the moon and it's just not THAT special to me.
  4. Buffalo Trace - Depending on where you are, this is either a steal at under $30, a gigantic ripoff for like $45+, or just never in stock. It's nice but nothing worth paying a premium for.
  5. Wild Turkey 101 - The bourbon everyone who likes bourbon says is criminally underrated. To me it's fine but I don't love it like some people do, but its price is low for a no-BS straight bourbon.
  6. Jim Beam Black Label - It's fine to put in coke.
  7. Woodford Reserve - It smells great and tastes good at first but has an aggressively bad aftertaste unless you just mix it with ginger beer or something. You're paying for a classy looking bottle basically.