Welcome to PatsFans.com

Wilcox "Touchdown catch" last night?

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by Run it up baby!, Dec 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Run it up baby!

    Run it up baby! Practice Squad Player

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Did anyone else catch this blown call by the refs last night? I haven't seen any threads on it and I'm not sifting through 90 pages of gameday thread so I figured I'd start a thread.....

    With 14:29 remaining in the 4th, Boller connected with Wilcox from the 1 for a TD pass, however after watching the play repeatedly, it's extremely clear that Wilcox doesn't get his second foot in bounds. Wilcox caught the ball about 9 yards deep in the endzone, leaving him about a yard of space to get the feet down. However, he caught the ball while standing on one leg (his right I believe), then stands on that foot while he takes one giant step backwards with his left foot, which lands out of bounds by probably 6 inches. I mean, it wasn't even close! Half the guys foot was out of bounds! Some may claim a push-out, but the defender barely put his hands on him and I saw no push-out signal by the ref, indicating that he thought the catch was made in bounds regardless.

    It's so blatant I was shocked that I missed it the first time around, as did the ~15 people I was watching the game with, the refs, Patriot players, announcers, and Patriot staff in the booth. I'm sure people overlooked it because he wasn't even really near the line when he caught the ball, but he took that giant step backwards and clearly stepped out of bounds. If anyone has the game Tivo'd, go watch it again and tell me what you think. Maybe there's some rule that I'm not familiar with or I just missed something, because it really wasn't close.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2007
  2. Keegs

    Keegs In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0

    video clip PLEASE. i would love to see this
    :)
     
  3. Kdo5

    Kdo5 Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6,480
    Likes Received:
    38
    Ratings:
    +107 / 8 / -7

    Video please?
     
  4. RussFrancis

    RussFrancis Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    I saw that, but havent seen the game a second time. And they didnt give a good replay on it that showed the feet, so I was wondering about that myself. great point. I thought I saw that 2nd foot come down on the back line, and I was surprised at the time that it wasnt challenged and reviewed. Apparently it should have been.
     
  5. Run it up baby!

    Run it up baby! Practice Squad Player

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Unfortunately I have no video clip as I've been watching it on my Tivo. Was hoping some others that had it Tivo'd could weigh in, but if you don't have it you may be outta luck. Maybe check the game highlights on ESPN/NFL.com and see if they show it?
     
  6. Ratoath

    Ratoath On the Roster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    i could be wrong but i'm fairly sure the second foot was in bounds. i think it was a good touchdown
     
  7. Va_Pats_Fan

    Va_Pats_Fan Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    37
    Ratings:
    +93 / 0 / -0

    #95 Jersey

    I noticed that too. I was surprised that it wasn't at least reviewed. His toe appeared to come down inbounds, and when his heel comes down, it was well in the white of the back of the endzone.
     
  8. SoCalPatsfan90

    SoCalPatsfan90 Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    You can see it in the NFL Video's clip of last nights highlights. As for TD or not, I think his toes came down in bounds, but it was close.
     
  9. RussFrancis

    RussFrancis Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    FALSE ALARM. I just looked at it again, that lucky SOB. He got both feet down. He was actually backing up out of the endzone, and his 2nd foot, the left, came down with the toes coming down inbounds before the heel hit the line. But he definitely got them both down. It was close, but it was legit.
     
  10. BradyToMoss07

    BradyToMoss07 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    I noticed this too. It was a very odd play. No one seemed to make mention of it. I think it was because of where he caught the ball, you would have to assume there was plenty of space for him to get the second foot down. But for some reason he let his left foot hang in the air and he actually was out of bounds.
     
  11. xmarkd400x

    xmarkd400x 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0

    So all you need is the first part of the second foot to be down?
     
  12. Oswlek

    Oswlek In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,918
    Likes Received:
    202
    Ratings:
    +746 / 9 / -2

    Yes. Once any part of your foot comes down (as long as it is the second one) in bounds it is good. Assuming, of course, that the other part of your foot does not come down OOB at the exact same time.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2007
  13. skri65

    skri65 Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0

    Yah, seemed legit. Btw, Hobbs got owned on this play, poor play by him.
     
  14. BradyisGod

    BradyisGod Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0

    I'm really not a rules expert, but this doesn't make sense to me. If a running back, who would typically run on the balls of his feet, lets say makes a cut near the sideline and in turn, his heel hits out of bounds, is he not out of bounds?

    No flames, just a question.
     
  15. Mike the Brit

    Mike the Brit Minuteman Target PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,956
    Likes Received:
    252
    Ratings:
    +576 / 2 / -2

    Disable Jersey

    I think it's like this. Once a part of the receiver's foot comes down in the endzone the touchdown is completed and the play ended, but, in the case of the running back, the play goes on until a part of his foot goes out of bounds. Seems to make sense to me.
     
  16. BradyisGod

    BradyisGod Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0

    Fair enough. I thought of that when I was typing but I still thought I'd ask.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>