PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Why Is It So Hard to Judge WRs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

aluminum seats

Pro Bowl Player
Reaction score
Thought about this with the Bethel Johnson mention. Why is it so hard to figure out how wide receivers will fare in the NFL? It seems like of all positions, the WR position is the one that's the most difficult to draft for. These names just off the top of my head--Hart Lee Dykes, Tony Simmons, Donald Hayes, Bethel Johnson, Chad Jackson (still hoping for him), and on and on, where all brought to the Pats, and none panned out. (I realize Hayes was a FA).

Makes you think that, like LBs, the Pats should just look to FA for receivers, or at least second day picks only.

What's the deal? I bet the Lions would like the answer to this, too.

I'm no expert, but I think the biggest reason is route running. College schemes are much simpler, and so WR's are only required to master a few routes and repeat them over and over. The schemes are more complex in the NFL. That's not a transition that every WR can make, and that aptitude is not a measureable skill for scouts to evaluate.

Last edited:
Thought about this with the Bethel Johnson mention. Why is it so hard to figure out how wide receivers will fare in the NFL? It seems like of all positions, the WR position is the one that's the most difficult to draft for. These names just off the top of my head--Hart Lee Dykes, Tony Simmons, Donald Hayes, Bethel Johnson, Chad Jackson (still hoping for him), and on and on, where all brought to the Pats, and none panned out. (I realize Hayes was a FA).

Makes you think that, like LBs, the Pats should just look to FA for receivers, or at least second day picks only.

Keep in mind, rarely are their great rookie wrs. WR don't typically hit their stride until year 3. If you compare that with RB who can often have their best year their rookie year and by year 3 be too banged up to continue playing.