PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Wheres all the June 1st Cuts?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris

On the Game Day Roster
Reaction score
I havent seen any this year.. or have i just missed them?

Not many. Kirwan at nfl.com has an article on it... basically, everybody has more cap room than they're used to, thanks to the new CBA, so far fewer have to cut for cap purposes. Evidently, there's going to be another big cap bump next year, so a repeat of the effect is in the works. I'm assuming at some point the cap levels off, at which point the inflation will catch up, and people will get stingy again.

(I personally thought there would still be more, and maybe more are coming, but that just goes to show I'm an amateur at capology, at best.)

PFnV

Last edited by a moderator:
Fewer June 1st cuts then usual. But teams will still have to pare down at set intervals. They have to get back down to 53 somehow! And BB and Pioli will certainly be shopping at the cut bin imo.

There weren't any. (None for cap reasons, at least)

Last edited:
Chris said:
I havent seen any this year.. or have i just missed them?

As we all predicted there would be very few -

Besides - why would GMs cut anyone when they can use trades to spread any bonus cap money over two years instead of one?

Bethel and Sullivan effecitvely ARE June 1 cuts...

You know the term "sign and trade"... the key phrase now is "trade and cut"

June 1 cuts have been overrated the past few years anyway (the expectation of what will be available) and even more so this year.

ugh to this thread. I mean, seriously, people. Come on.

Hey now. Just ask certain LONG TIME PATS FANS and they will tell you all that they are going to happen while berating you for supposedly being a bandwagoner for living in California. .. *hears crickets chirping*