PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

What do you think Walsh has on the Pats?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cupofjoe1962

Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract
Reaction score
I think that if he has anything that could hurt the Pats it is an audio tape.

Pioli fired him for taping phone calls.
I think (just a guess) that if he has anything to hurt the Pats, it could be
something against Pioli (taped phone call).

If he taped a phone call, it is against the law in Massachusetts.

The NFL can not give him immunity from breaking a law.
I do not believe Spector could give him immunity for breaking a Mass law.
A federal law, but not a Mass law.

Then again, I am no lawyer.

My guess is he has tapes from 2000-2003 of videotaping the opposing team's sidelines. Remember when he was shooting his mouth off to reporters, it wasn't public knowledge that the Pats admitted to videotaping opposing team's sidelines since 2000. Actually it was public knowledge, but it was never really understood or reported correctly from the media.

I think he "has" inside info and word-of-mouth type stuff.

I'm seeing a little bit of discrepency here: If others, like mysef, contend that taping these signals was never really seen as that big of a deal, almost an unspoken part of the game, why would Walsh steal these tapes and hide them for 6 years to eventually use as leverage or something? If this is true it means that he had the foresight to know that the media would turn taping signals into murder in the first, and that these tapes would later be considered a big deal.

What he did to Pioli, if true, is a Felony. Any audio recording without knowledge of the other party is illegal in Massachusetts.

MGL 272 s99 5 years in prison / $10,000 fine

That may be the hangup on the agreement. The NFL would be unable to grant him immunity.

Last edited:
I think he "has" inside info and word-of-mouth type stuff.