Welcome to PatsFans.com

What are the rules about "passing"?

Discussion in 'Patriots Draft Talk' started by betterthanthealternative, Apr 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. betterthanthealternative

    betterthanthealternative In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    48
    Ratings:
    +165 / 4 / -0

    Can a team just say "pass" and skip a turn? If I'm drafting first and I don't see anyone worth the money, and can't trade down, can I just wait until I do see the right player for the cost?
     
  2. RodThePat

    RodThePat In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Yup. (10 char)
     
  3. letekro

    letekro In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,215
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ratings:
    +36 / 14 / -10

    The Vikings did this under Mike Tice. I think the player's agent (Kevin Williams?) was successful in securing the salary that would be payable based on the Vikes original draft position, however.
     
  4. dryheat44

    dryheat44 Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,369
    Likes Received:
    33
    Ratings:
    +78 / 2 / -0

    #75 Jersey

    You can do nothing. The team drafting next gets to make a selection, then the team after that, and so on until you bring a draft card to the table.

    In the early rounds, this will almost certainly going to create a signing problem with whomever you ultimately select, as his agent is going to argue he should get paid in your original slot and will probably file a grievance.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>