Welcome to PatsFans.com

Thank God the refs got ONE call right...

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by solman, Nov 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. solman

    solman Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0

    I seemed pretty clear to me that the second foot comes down out of bounds (well out of bounds).

    The push out was totally obvious, but a non-call could not have been challenged.
  2. godef

    godef Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,118
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0

    I speak of the force out on Donte Stallworth's catch prior to the final touchdown. We would have yelled bloody murder, but the refs could have gotten away with a non-call on this.
  3. LoveDemPats

    LoveDemPats Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    As if in a cartoon, I would have grabbed my tongue, (since I am in a cartoon it is really long like a dog tongue), and I would have yanked the thing so hard my eyeballs would have popped out of my head like a foot and a half.

    Then, I would have like picked up my tv, and I would have thrown it out the window, and it would have like landed on some lady's head, and she would have wandered around blindly, clutching at things until she finally turned the knobs on the front of the TV so that she could, ya know, see again.

    Great catch by Stallworth by the way! He is so great to have on our team. All these guys really won a big one last night.

    Screw those vagabond refs.
  4. upstater1

    upstater1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,027
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ratings:
    +43 / 4 / -3

    Great point. I actaully thought the ref initially ruled out of bounds the way he waved his arms. I was livid.
  5. AndyJohnson

    AndyJohnson PatsFans.com Veteran PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    22,600
    Likes Received:
    135
    Ratings:
    +478 / 18 / -14

    we would have challenged and won, because he actually got both feet down
  6. ctpatsfan77

    ctpatsfan77 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,559
    Likes Received:
    154
    Ratings:
    +328 / 5 / -5

    If I understand the rule correctly, a call of a push-out cannot be challenged. However, if they had ruled it out-of-bounds for an incompletion, the Pats could at the least challenge if they thought that Stallworth might have come down in bounds anyways (the same thing would have applied with Jabar Gaffney's TD in January--the DB tried to push him out, but he still would have come down in bounds anyways).
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>