Welcome to PatsFans.com

Some perspective on the Chiefs

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by Sicilian, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sicilian

    Sicilian On the Roster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968
    Likes Received:
    142
    Ratings:
    +331 / 1 / -2

    I know we're all looking forward to the Jets game and the Chiefs are old news. But one of the arguments I heard against Cassel this week was, "Well, he only barely beat the Chiefs!"

    Looking at the schedule last year:

    With Larry Johnson:

    1 Sun, Sep 9 @ Houston L 3-20
    2 Sun, Sep 16 @ Chicago L 10-20
    3 Sun, Sep 23 Minnesota W 13-10
    4 Sun, Sep 30 @ San Diego W 30-16
    5 Sun, Oct 7 Jacksonville L 7-17
    6 Sun, Oct 14 Cincinnati W 27-20
    7 Sun, Oct 21 @ Oakland W 12-10
    8 BYE WEEK
    9 Sun, Nov 4 Green Bay L 22-33

    Without Larry Johnson:

    10 Sun, Nov 11 Denver L 11-27
    11 Sun, Nov 18 @ Indianapolis L 10-13
    12 Sun, Nov 25 Oakland L 17-20
    13 Sun, Dec 2 San Diego L 10-24
    14 Sun, Dec 9 @ Denver L 7-41
    15 Sun, Dec 16 Tennessee L 17-26
    16 Sun, Dec 23 @ Detroit L 20-25
    17 Sun, Dec 30 @ NY Jets L 10-13 OT

    A 4-12 season never looks good, and there were certainly some stinkers in there (Denver games come to mind). But with Johnson they beat San Diego on the road, and WITHOUT Larry Johnson they held tough against Indianapolis and Tennessee.

    They lost to some bad teams, but they seem like the type of team that plays up or down to their competition. I'm not saying it's a great accomplishment to beat KC, but there were other teams that struggled against them last year without Johnson and without this class of high energy rookies they brought on.

    Probably water under the bridge, but thought it was interesting. Take it for what it's worth.
  2. xmarkd400x

    xmarkd400x Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0

    Last year they were a .500 with LJ. We played the LJ version of the Chiefs.

    It doesn't really mean a whole lot, but it makes me happier about the win.
  3. JoePats

    JoePats Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    Yea but the other side is we're really doing is talking about Cassel here. That's what you want to take from the game. And he played their defense without Jared Allen.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>