So what's the deal with 12 men in the huddle? I'm talking about what happened last night against minnesota on 4th and 1 vs green bay. The packers didn't snap the ball but the vikes got called for 12 men. But, other times a team will challenge 12 men on the field and they will look at the replay and see if the 12th men's foot is inbounds when the ball is snapped. So if the refs catch 12 men on the field BEFORE the ball is snapped they can call it? That seems inconsistent and bogus. So if a coach challenges and the refs can see they had 12 men on the field around the time the ball is snapped but the defender gets off the field before the ball is snapped shouldn't it still be 12 men in the huddle? A similar situation I also don't like is when a ref will catch a defender being offsides but blows the play dead instead of letting the play play out. That doesn't make sense to me. It should be the same penalty and the same outcome either way. In both instances, I think they should let the play play out. Maybe I'm misinterpreting the rules here, if so please correct me.