Welcome to PatsFans.com

Should Vrabel have been credited with another sack?

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by italia44, Dec 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. italia44

    italia44 In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    I watched replays of the game on the NFLNE and on

    the play at the end of the half when Miami had 4th

    and one and Cleo Lemon scrambled out of bounds
    inside the flag.......Vrabel was the closest to him and
    prevented him from scoring.

    Since on 4th and one on the 1 yd line,you cannot be credited with a gain in yardage without scoring,shouldn't Mike Vrabel be credited with another sack?

    Lemon did drop back to pass and then scrambled,
    so,there's no question that it was a passing play.

    What do you think?
     
  2. JoePats

    JoePats In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    No sack if it was for no gain.
     
  3. italia44

    italia44 In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    sorry,I believe you're wrong......no gain is a sack.
    You have to be credited with plus yardage to negate
    a sack.
     
  4. Chevy

    Chevy Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0

    Andre had 18.5 in 1984, and 16.5 in 1985 ... Vrabel has a little ways to go yet. :D
     
  5. bradmahn

    bradmahn In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    I believe it was credited as a team sack.
     
  6. Ishdul

    Ishdul On the Game Day Roster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    He didn't get credited with a tackle so I don't think he could've gotten the sack.
     
  7. italia44

    italia44 In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    I think you might be right.....on NFL.com the Patriots

    are credited with 7 sacks,but only 6 sacks were credited to players.This would leave 1 as a team sack.

    I wonder what the Elias Sports Bureau says about this.
     
  8. PatsFanInMaine

    PatsFanInMaine Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0

    The Play By Play at NFL.COM has it as a sack.



    4-1-NE 1 (5:33) MIA 71-Lekkerkerker eligible. 17-C.Lemon sacked at NE 1 for 0 yards. Miami challenged the runner broke the plane ruling, and the play was Upheld. (Timeout #2 at 05:26.)
     
  9. jbb9s

    jbb9s In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0

    Not specific to this play in particular, if a QB is tackled for a loss it is not necessarily a sack. If it was a deisgned run and it happened to be for a loss, it would not be a sack.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>