Welcome to PatsFans.com

Rule of Law: 1, Police State: 0

Discussion in 'Political Discussion' started by Pujo, Jun 12, 2007.

1. Pujo

Pujo Rookie

Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

Source: http://www.cnn.com/2007/LAW/06/11/terror.ruling.ap/index.html

Now they're not saying Bush can't go after terrorists, and they're not saying we have to give up and convert to Islam, but they are saying the military can't just seize people who live in America, on American soil, and lock them up forever. And this is the most conservative federal circuit saying that. I'm assuming we have 100% agreement that it's a good thing we live in America, a rule-of-law country?
  2. DarrylS

DarrylS PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +264 / 10 / -26

3. BelichickFan

BelichickFan B.O. = Fugazi PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +426 / 10 / -11

#24 Jersey

The lawyer types I saw on TV last night thought this would get overturned. I'm not a lawyer so I don't know all the ins and outs but the high level concept of having to let likely terrorists walk out, no I'm not in agreement with you.
  4. Patters

Patters Moderator Staff Member PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +184 / 4 / -6

So, if by some fluke, your name ended up on a terrorist list, you would respect the right of the government to lock you up indefinitely? If that's true, then you have even greater faith in government than I do.
  5. Pujo

Pujo Rookie

Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

If we just locked everyone up, we wouldn't have any terrorists walking around :rolleyes:

To me, there are some things worth protecting, and us having a society built on law and order is one of them.
  6. BelichickFan

Ratings:
    +426 / 10 / -11

#24 Jersey