Welcome to PatsFans.com

Romo Choko!!

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by PatsDeb, Jan 6, 2007.

  1. PatsDeb

    PatsDeb PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,085
    Likes Received:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126 / 0 / -1

    OMG .....there goes Parcells' head.
     
  2. PatsDeb

    PatsDeb PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,085
    Likes Received:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126 / 0 / -1

    I actually feel kinda bad for the kid. I was just so surprised by what happened. No bad karma., please.
     
  3. Pats726

    Pats726 Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,800
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0

    oooooops...Romo NO GO!!! What an easy play and it cost Cinci a chance against Denver..and Dallas a continuation in the playoffs....
     
  4. italia44

    italia44 In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Where was the ball when Romo was tackled?

    The ground cannot cause a fumble....they should have measured for a first down!
     
  5. sarge

    sarge Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0

    He was atleast a yard short of the first.

    Man, talk about a short honeymoon.

    Wonder what Bledsoe is thinking?
     
  6. PatsFan24

    PatsFan24 In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    wow i had not thought about that, good point
     
  7. PatsFaninAZ

    PatsFaninAZ In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    Yup. Madden and Michaels did not appear to understand (and maybe the refs didn't understand either) that Romo DID NOT need the end zone. He only needed the one. Nevertheless, I think Romo was clearly down well outside the one yard line even if it wasn't a fumble.
     
  8. PatsDeb

    PatsDeb PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,085
    Likes Received:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126 / 0 / -1

    I don't think he got to the 1, where he had to be. That must be why Parcells was asking on the sideline, "Was that a fumble?"
     
  9. NYCPatsFan

    NYCPatsFan In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,443
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +40 / 2 / -0

    No Jersey Selected

    I think he was attempting to reach out beyond the 1-yard line (first-down marker) when he went down. Replays from the sideline shows that he would not have got the first down.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2007
  10. PatsFan24

    PatsFan24 In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    the guy has banged jessica simpson and carrie underwood, i dont feel bad for him
     
  11. NYCPatsFan

    NYCPatsFan In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,443
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +40 / 2 / -0

    No Jersey Selected

    I am more pissed because this prevents us from getting a higher pick in the draft.:mad:
     
  12. PatsDeb

    PatsDeb PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,085
    Likes Received:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126 / 0 / -1

    Hmmmm, I sense a little green monster (and I don't mean a Jets fan).
     
  13. PatsFaninAZ

    PatsFaninAZ In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    If you can't convert on what amounts to an extra point, you don't deserve to win the game. That said, I thought reversing the spot on the 3d down was a questionable call. Much as tv replay is great, the linesman is simply in the best position to see that play. I believe he marked the spot where the receiver made the catch -- which was clearly over and behind his head and, on replay, looked at least arguably like it could have been the one yard line. Only when he took it down into his body did he appear short of the line.

    I think that was close enough that the play on the field should have stood. While I do think it's MOST PROBABLE that the spot on the field was incorrect, I did not think the replay was conclusive, and the wide variation in what consitutes "clear evidence" depending on the ref is kind of causing some problems in the NFL.

    Bottom line, the Cowboys still should have made the kick. But I don't think that call should have been reversed.
     
  14. brdmaverick

    brdmaverick In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    33
    Ratings:
    +91 / 3 / -0

    #32 Jersey

    agreed, he was definitely short of the one, no need for a measurement.

    The refs got the spot right as the Seahawks took over at their 2 yard line instead of the the six.


    What a choke though. I can't believe it. Seattle should be out and our pick should be better than it will be. Good grief.
     
  15. PatsFan24

    PatsFan24 In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    the finish was exciting, but again it was bad play that lost the game more than great play that won it
     
  16. Pats Fanatic

    Pats Fanatic PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -3

    #54 Jersey

    How , still get no. 22 only mathers if thet make it to the Super Bowl(NO Way).
     
  17. SVN

    SVN Hall of Fame Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,126
    Likes Received:
    648
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 14 / -10

    great example of how weird this game is...
     
  18. PatsFaninAZ

    PatsFaninAZ In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    Yup, play on the field was called a fumble, I'm nearly certain. Didn't see the bean bag, but everything else suggested to me that was the call.
     
  19. shakadave

    shakadave In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,239
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    a) On Romo's Choke-O hold, if Grammatica had made a little more solid block on Romo's pursuer (#29 I think), instead of just sticking his arms in his face, Romo would not have been caught from behind. The next tackler (drifting out from the goal line) would not have been able to stop Romo short of the first down marker.

    b) Romo was stopped at least 2 yards short of the first down.

    c) The reversal of the spot call that gave Dallas 4th down at the 1 1/2 yard line was the correct spot. No way that ball ever reached the 1.0 yard line.

    d) On that amazing play that was ruled a safety, why was it a catch in the first place? Classic ball-touches-ground-before-receiver-demonstrates-control!!!!
     
  20. PatsFaninAZ

    PatsFaninAZ In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    I disagree on (c). I think the ball was further down the field when it was first caught -- over and behind the receiver's head, then when he was tackled. Line judge was standing right there. Not saying I disagree that the spot was probably wrong, just that it shouldn't have been reversed.

    On (d), this seems to be a recurring and misunderstand situation in football all year. If the receiver, in the process of catching the ball, is hit and ultimately tackled, he must maintain possession all the way to the ground if (but only if) he is tackled by the player that hit him as the ball arrived. If the hit occurs after the catch, not simultaneous or nearly simultaneous with it, the receiver must only make a "football move" to establish possession.There was an interesting example of this in the earlier game today, where the player was hit as he caught the ball, but then hit by a second defender who dislodged the ball. There it's a fumble too.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2007

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>