Welcome to PatsFans.com

Recording of the PI in the End Zone

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by Buchanty, Sep 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Buchanty

    Buchanty On the Game Day Roster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -1

    My son was watching NFL Live (edited) this afternoon and they showed the PI call on Sergio Brown that resulted in the ball being placed on the 1yd line. From there the Bills had no problem scoring the TD.

    The reason I ask is that one of the commentators said that it was a bad call because Brown raised his hands up and the Bill's receiver wrapped him up. If anything it was an offensive PI.

    I cant find any video of the play but would ask that anyone who DVR'd the game check it out. I know it is history but it could join the 4th and 2 call from 2 years ago and the non-holding call in the game that shall not be mentioned in the pantheon of calls that turned a win into a loss.

    I still believe you have to play the game with all the variables, including bad referees, but sometimes that belief is severely tested.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  2. DaBruinz

    DaBruinz Pats, B's, Sox PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24,833
    Likes Received:
    370
    Ratings:
    +945 / 66 / -54

    #50 Jersey

    Many of us have said exactly that. That it was a bad call and it should have been Offensive PI.
     
  3. Pujo

    Pujo Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,572
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    Brown wasn't looking at the ball and he ran right into the receiver, who was looking at the ball. After the initial contact it did look like the receiver held him, but Brown definitely was responsible for the initial contact. The call probably should have been offsetting penalties.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  4. Rob0729

    Rob0729 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    1,401
    Ratings:
    +3,998 / 42 / -15

    I don't know if it was really a bad call. Looked like Brown blocked the receiver's path back to the ball. That is PI.
     
  5. miamipat

    miamipat Practice Squad Player

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Though I don't know were to look up the replay I remember watching the game live and the replay they showed and thinking what a horrible call. Sergio Brown had his head turned and his arms where not holding anyone. Makes you wonder what outcome of game would've been without that bad call. Oh well, live goes on.
     
  6. Ice_Ice_Brady

    Ice_Ice_Brady In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    99
    Ratings:
    +303 / 21 / -3

    Correct call, incredibly stupid rule.

    I've said for years that PI penalties for underthrown balls are hog wash. As if the defensive back isn't at enough of a disadvantage with the new passing mania; now, even if the coverage is perfect, the QB can just drop the ball 15 yards in in front of the route and a PI is inevitable.
     
  7. Big-T

    Big-T Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,301
    Likes Received:
    457
    Ratings:
    +1,209 / 20 / -9

    #51 Jersey

    From what I remember from seeing it live...Brown was going back towards the under thrown ball when Nelson grabbed Brown and wrapped him up in an attempt to stop a pick (which he didn't :p) Offensive PI in my books that was.

    At least it wasn't a cheap call like the one Austin Collie got 2 seasons ago where he just ran into the Patriots DB coming back to an under thrown ball :rolleyes:
     
  8. ctpatsfan77

    ctpatsfan77 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,594
    Likes Received:
    575
    Ratings:
    +1,531 / 19 / -8

    #3 Jersey

    You didn't see the Colts exception in the rule book? It's printed there in invisible ink. :rolleyes:
     
  9. WhiZa

    WhiZa Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0

    I have the DVR and remember that play. Sergio had his hands on the receiver and was not looking at the ball for at least a second. Anyone who you challenge about this would just bring up that small point and it doesn't matter what the receiver did after that.

    It's weak at best (i know), but this is the NFL we live in.
     
  10. TheSolderKing

    TheSolderKing In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    can anyone upload or find a video of this?:confused:
     
  11. sarge

    sarge Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    That play is basically what I call getting a gift for an underthrown ball.

    We have benefitted from similar calls in the past (Dolphins game a few years back comes to mind)

    The NFL should really look at this rule as it is a giftwrapped big play for what is otherwise bad offensive play.

    The ball is underthrown which is why the reciever is trying to stop and now go through the defender who should have a right to the same ground.

    It may be the rule, but it is a very poor rule if an offense is awarded a big play due to the fact the QB underthrows the ball and the reciever changed direction and runs into the defender following him
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  12. WhoaDirty

    WhoaDirty Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ratings:
    +94 / 2 / -1

    Is there anything a DB can actually do on a play like that? When a ball is 7-10 yards underthrown, it seems like the only thing the rules let him do is an ole so the receiver can get back to the ball. :(

    A play like that a holding call would be more fair to the DB.
     
  13. ctpatsfan77

    ctpatsfan77 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,594
    Likes Received:
    575
    Ratings:
    +1,531 / 19 / -8

    #3 Jersey

    How about this: if the penalty occurs after a receiver "comes back" for a ball, it's an illegal contact penalty, 5 yards + first down.
     
  14. mrscruff

    mrscruff PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +33 / 2 / -0

    #32 Jersey

    One person's viewpoint:
    The Pulling Linemen: Dissecting the Defeat

    [​IMG]

    Caption competition anyone?
     
  15. tobias funke

    tobias funke Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    Look, a good team doesn't put itself in a position to have the game decided by a ref's call.

    Now that that's out of the way, it was a mind-boggingly ****ty call that didn't necessarily hand the Bills the game, but came awfully close.

    The refs across the league have been very, very poor, and in a few cases have affected an otherwise good game in a very negative way.
     
  16. cmasspatsfan

    cmasspatsfan In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,712
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0

    I thought it was a heady play by the reciever, he wasnt catching that ball so he grabbed the defender and got the call.
    The NFL seriously has to look at this rule and make an amendment for these woefully underthrown balls that somehow garner a PI call.

    The rule should be anything way underthrown should be no penalty, unless the reciever tries to decieve the ref and grab the defender, then it should be an offensive penalty.

    It gets a little sketchier for balls slightly underthrown but something can be worked out thats fair.
     
  17. Haley

    Haley In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,645
    Likes Received:
    180
    Ratings:
    +552 / 8 / -1

    No Jersey Selected

    Here is the official rule: NFL Rules Digest: Pass Interference

    Originally I had thought this was an okay call because of this:

    Crappy rule maybe but still, seemed like the right call.

    But after reading through the actual rule more carefully, I don't believe that to be the case anymore, mainly because of this:

    I remember that ball being pretty woefully under thrown. I find it hard to justify that anyone could have caught it even without this contact.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  18. DaBruinz

    DaBruinz Pats, B's, Sox PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24,833
    Likes Received:
    370
    Ratings:
    +945 / 66 / -54

    #50 Jersey

    The problem is that Brown did not cut off the path of the receiver. Nelson is the one who stopped and grabbed on to Brown.


    Now the question becomes whether or not Nelson could have gotten into position to catch the ball if Brown wasn't there. And the answer is "NO", he couldn't because Barrett had position AND the ball within milliseconds of any contact.

    The biggest problem with Pass Interference is that there is no consistency in calling it. As you mentioned, the is a stipulation about the uncatchable ball by the parties involved. It was CLEAR that Nelson wasn't getting to that ball whether or not Brown was there.. Yet, the refs blow it and seem to forget about that part of the rule.
     
  19. tobias funke

    tobias funke Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    The funny thing is that there is rarely any discussion on plays like this. One ref throws a flag and the rest of them blindly follow along, even on a spot foul play that not only wipes an INT off the board and hands the other team the ball on the 1 yard line.

    You'd think a play like this would at least get a conversation, considering that the 2 players involved in the foul weren't very close to the ball.
     
  20. MAYOnnaise

    MAYOnnaise On the Roster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    I don't see nothing wrong..with a little bump and grind.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>