Welcome to PatsFans.com

Question

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by JackPMiller, May 22, 2006.

  1. JackPMiller

    JackPMiller On the Game Day Roster

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0

    It was asked on my football board. Lets say the QB fumbles a snap, which is not a fumbleruski thing, which is illegal, but it is a real fumble, could an offensive lineman be allowed to pick up the ball and throw a pass?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2005
  2. Flying Fungi

    Flying Fungi In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    my answer without looking it up is yes

    but the rules for receiver eligibility would still be in effect--so an OL, unless previously reported as eligible, could not catch said pass...
     
  3. Murphys95

    Murphys95 Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Excellent question. I'm not certain, but my first instinct is to say yes, as long as the passer is behind the line of scrimmage. Also, he'd have to take into account illegal men downfield and eligible receivers.
     
  4. Urgent

    Urgent In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    71
    Ratings:
    +249 / 4 / -0

    #24 Jersey

    You mean, assuming his 401K is in order?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2005
  5. Jacky Roberts

    Jacky Roberts 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Yes. As long as the ball is picked up behind the line of scrimmage and as long as the ball hits the ground before it hits the lineman, he can pick it up and throw it.
     
  6. Pats726

    Pats726 Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,800
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0

    I would agree...I think it is OK....a bit odd a play..but I would think obviously..behind the line and no non-eligle receivers downfield...odd plays do happen.
     

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>