I have a question about a certain scenario that could happen in a game. Say you are on offense and you are on the 6 yard line ready to score. It is 3rd and 4. You can get a first down at the 2. Before the ball is snapped the defense jumps offsides. The ball is placed half way to the goal which is the 3 yard line. My question is: Does the offense get a first down? It is normally a 5 yard penalty but with no automatic first down. Because of the placement on the field the ball only get's moved to the three which is a yard short. However if the ball was anywhere else on the field then a first down would be awarded. Does anyone know the ruling on this? Some friends and I were having this discussion and no one really knew. I don't think that this scenario is farfetched. I would hate to see how the replacements would handle this.