Welcome to PatsFans.com

Q on Tom’s interception and pass interference

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by Dr Pain, Sep 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dr Pain

    Dr Pain Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Sorry if this is already out there. I just replayed the interception and it is very clear that the defender hit the receiver pretty hard before the ball hit them, bounced up and was intercepted. Is there no pass interference for passes behind the line of scrimmage?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Pujo

    Pujo Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,572
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    There is only if it's a forward pass.
     
  3. Dr Pain

    Dr Pain Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    It was a forward pass. I noted the spot where it was released and where it went
     
  4. scout

    scout Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ratings:
    +44 / 0 / -2

    #15 Jersey

    If it's any consolation, he just gut cut.
     
  5. tobias funke

    tobias funke Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    I figured this was common sense, considering you have 5 yards beyond the line to hit a receiver anyway.
     
  6. Dr Pain

    Dr Pain Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    That makes sense
     
  7. The Scrizz

    The Scrizz 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    43
    Ratings:
    +118 / 4 / -2

    #11 Jersey

    This was discussed at length in another thread, there is no PI behind the line of scrimmage, forward pass or not.

    "Note 4: There can be no pass interference at or behind the line of scrimmage, but defensive actions such as tackling a receiver can still result in a 5-yard penalty for defensive holding, if accepted."

    NFL Rules Digest: Pass Interference
     
  8. unoriginal

    unoriginal In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    81
    Ratings:
    +243 / 3 / -1

    You are, however, not allowed to hit an intended receiver in that area if the ball is in the air, as Benny Sapp did. That is still defensive pass interference.

    The common sense approach is more along the lines of: if it is legal for offensive personnel to block defenders at or behind the line of scrimmage, even if the ball is in the air, it must be legal for defensive personnel to hit the offense at or behind the line of scrimmage, even if the ball is in the air.

    Obviously that would exclude holds, which are subject to offensive and defensive holding calls.
     
  9. tobias funke

    tobias funke Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    That's not my understanding.

    You're not allowed to tackle a receiver, because that's defensive holding, which can happen anywhere on the field.

    I just watched the play 5x and nothing Sapp did could be considered 'tackling'. In fact, Edelman was the one who tackled Sapp during the play.
     
  10. AndyJohnson

    AndyJohnson PatsFans.com Veteran PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,285
    Likes Received:
    254
    Ratings:
    +972 / 20 / -20

    But you cannot hit within the 5 yard zone when the ball is in the air.
    In this case the ball was thrown pretty much between the players and both made a play on it, which wouldn't cause pass interference.
     
  11. AndyJohnson

    AndyJohnson PatsFans.com Veteran PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,285
    Likes Received:
    254
    Ratings:
    +972 / 20 / -20

    If you could hit the receiver while the ball was in the air within the 5 yard chuck zone everyone would just knock down receivers trying to catch short passes.
     
  12. The Scrizz

    The Scrizz 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    43
    Ratings:
    +118 / 4 / -2

    #11 Jersey

    The 5 yard zone is beyond the line of scrimmage. There is a clear differentiation in what you can do behind the line of scrimmage and beyond the line of scrimmage.

    You aren't allowed to hold, you are allowed to drill a guy. Until they are past the line of scrimmage they are just another would-be blocker.

    Edit - And I'm not disagreeing with you, just trying to clarify the difference.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2011
  13. tobias funke

    tobias funke Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    Forget my 'common sense' remark, it was a poor choice of words. Technically pass interference can be called within 5 yards, but you almost never see it, because most refs wont throw a flag for it on a quick pass if a defender is already in the process of jamming. Holding is more likely, which is a different discussion.

    As far as this play is concerned, I can't see any way that it would be DPI, based on the rules posted by the NFL.
     
  14. AndyJohnson

    AndyJohnson PatsFans.com Veteran PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,285
    Likes Received:
    254
    Ratings:
    +972 / 20 / -20

    Right, but what I am talking about is for an example a WR running a drag all the way across the field 3 yards beyond the los. If the 5 was a 'no pi zone' the LB would just knock him down while the pass was in the air.
     
  15. tobias funke

    tobias funke Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    I don't completely understand the point of this scenario. What is the window of opportunity to tackle a WR running on the 3 yard line while the ball is in the air? 0.1s?

    And if the LB manages to tackle the WR while the ball is in the air, the ref is probably going to call holding/illegal contact anyway, making it a 5 yard walkoff instead of a 3 yard spot foul.
     
  16. AndyJohnson

    AndyJohnson PatsFans.com Veteran PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,285
    Likes Received:
    254
    Ratings:
    +972 / 20 / -20

    There is no lllegal contact within 5 yards, and you have to hold to be called for holding.
    What I described is pass interference. Why are you having such a hard time accepting what the rule is.
    Pass interference, illegal contact, and defensive holding are 3 different fouls, you can't use them interchangeably because their is a receiver involved.
     
  17. Tom + Bill

    Tom + Bill Practice Squad Player

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    the refs hate the pats is a known fact.
     
  18. tobias funke

    tobias funke Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    Look, I'm not arguing with you. You're absolutely right about what is and what isn't pass interference.

    The only reason this came up is because my 'common sense' comment, and I was explaining why I said it, because you rarely see pass interference called on a play that happens within the first 5 yards, because more contact is obviously allowed, and the ball is in the air for such a short period of time relative to a longer pass.

    Technically you're absolutely right: in your hypothetical situation, DPI would be the call. I'm simply wondering when the last time you saw a 3 yard penalty was. :)
     
  19. The Scrizz

    The Scrizz 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    43
    Ratings:
    +118 / 4 / -2

    #11 Jersey

    I know, I was agreeing with you and trying to further your example by differentiating the situation of why the no-chuck zone has no 'common-sense' association with behind the LOS as the other poster mentioned.

    I am however a fan of LB's drilling anybody they can behind the LOS, it was a major factor in our first SB win and doesn't get done enough. I was calling for a consistent decking of Bush on every play before the game.

    That's why Sapp's play was so good and why I'm pissed he got cut while trash like Nolan Carroll has a roster spot. I don't care if he plays special teams! Butler looks like Revis compared to that guy.
     
  20. The Scrizz

    The Scrizz 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    43
    Ratings:
    +118 / 4 / -2

    #11 Jersey

    That actually makes more sense now that you have elucidated your original statement.

    Bring da noise, Bring da Tobias Funke!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>