Welcome to PatsFans.com

OT: HDTV question

Discussion in 'The PatsFans.com Pub' started by bruinator, May 6, 2010.

  1. bruinator

    bruinator Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    If one had cable and wanted to upgrade to HD cable and I have a satellite dish, what do the techies change in regards to equipment when they come out to the house?

    thx
  2. Tunescribe

    Tunescribe PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    16,441
    Likes Received:
    284
    Ratings:
    +765 / 5 / -14

    #61 Jersey

    This belongs in the Pub forum. You will get some good response there.
  3. Michael

    Michael Moderator Staff Member PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,013
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0

    #12 Jersey

    You simply get a digital HD cable box. With HDMI connection.
  4. 12+81=TD

    12+81=TD Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    #91 Jersey

    Yes sir, you get a new box (HD Reciever)and a new cable (HDMI). End of story.

    Your provider will get them both for you, assuming you upgrade your package to HD programming.
  5. PatsChamp88

    PatsChamp88 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +49 / 3 / -0

    #75 Jersey

    Regardless of what you have (Satellite or Cable) they are going to install some type of box that comes with a monthly fee probably but has the following outputs: coaxial, RCA, component and HDMI. The new boxes should be equipped with HDMI output(s) and to get the best possible picture and sound you will need to run a HDMI cable from their box to your TV. If you have any more questions let me know.
    Last edited: May 7, 2010
  6. juxtapoz15

    juxtapoz15 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    #54 Jersey

    I've read quite a few articles that contend that you will receive just as good of a picture using component (y,pb,pr) as you do with HDMI. IMO, I would just save your money and not by the cable (unless your new receiver comes with one).
  7. Mogamedogz

    Mogamedogz Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,042
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0

    #80 Jersey

    Welcome to the world of HD... life will never be the same. :Cheers:
  8. bruinator

    bruinator Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    So I won't need a new or additional satellite dish? Thx for your help and everyone else.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>