Welcome to PatsFans.com

Onside Kick Question

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by batbl18, Nov 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. batbl18

    batbl18 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    For an onside kick the kicking team kicks off on their own 30 yard line and needs 10 yards to recover the kick to avoid an illegal touching penalty inside those 10 yards. Now when a team gets penalized for illegal touching, it is a 5 yard penalty thus forcing them to kick from the 25 yard line. Now in this situation the kicking team do they have to recover the ball still 10 yards away now on the 35, or do they still have to recover the ball starting at the 40, now 15 yards away? Thanks. This is a dispute between me and my friends.
  2. jbb9s

    jbb9s Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0

    90% sure that it is 10 yards from where the ball is kicked from so the 35.
  3. rabthepat

    rabthepat Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    10 yards from the point of the kick.
  4. PatsFaninAZ

    PatsFaninAZ Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,097
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    Why would this scenario ever actually happen, though? The receiving team can just take the ball at the point of the illegal touch. In other words, there doesn't have to be a re-kick. I can't think of a circumstance where the receiving team would have the penalty marched off and let the kicking team rekick.

    But if they did, it's 10 yards. It doesn't matter where the ball is kicked from. For example, if a team scores a TD and then commits a personal foul after the extra point, they get penalized 15 yards on the ensuing kick off, and kick off from the 15. In that circumstance, they can recover the ball after it goes 10 yards, to the 25. (Or they can recover it after the receiving team touches it, even if that touching happens before it goes 10 yards.)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>