Welcome to PatsFans.com

Obama - Generals - War

Discussion in 'Political Discussion' started by IcyPatriot, Jul 16, 2008.

1. IcyPatriot

IcyPatriot ------------- PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +1,776 / 35 / -29

#87 Jersey

This article caught my attention because it was a big pet peeve of mine regarding Bush and Rumsfeld. Bush deferred to Rumsfeld rather than listen to our fine Generals ... really pissed me off and we all know the history of this.

Now Obama says he will listen to the Generals ... which ... and I am no military expert could be good and bad. If we are already in a war or warlike situation then I say this is a good thing. But if we are not at war ... I am not so sure it is a good thing.

Here is what Obama said:

http://www.suntimes.com/news/politics/obama/839220,obamaweb031208.article

I believe Obama will ramp things up in Afghanistan which will be a good thing. I hope Obama pressures Pakistan to allow us more movement in the northeast tribal areas in routing out al-qaeda. I am just not so sure Obama will let the Generals do their job as he says because he also will have heavy pressure form his constituency who elected him and who for the most part are very anti-war.

Last edited: Jul 16, 2008
  2. DarrylS

DarrylS PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +703 / 20 / -30

I agree, holy crap, it seems that since Viet Nam that there has been a tendency to fight politically correct wars from inside the beltway.. time to restore the power to the Generals and those with boots on the ground. Not sure about the anti war influence, if he is doing what needs to be done in Afghanistan may change the attitudes.

3. Harry Boy

Harry Boy Look Up, It's Amazing PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +970 / 2 / -9

A General's whole life is dedicated To War, it is what they do, so, when in a War, "listen to the general" let the Generals run the war and keep the Scumsucking Grinning Politican out of it.

:bricks:

4. PatriotsReign