Status
Not open for further replies.

Miguel

Patriots Salary Cap Guru
PatsFans.com Supporter
2020 Weekly Picks Winner
Reaction score
My take on "Cap is Crap"

I rather not hijack the Jack Edwards thread with this so I decided to create this thread.

The entire "Cap is crap" concept diminishes the accomplishments of the best team of the salary cap era. If Michael Felger had performed a better job of reporting on the salary cap, I would have never felt the need to start my cap pages. If I did not understand something or do something well like report on the salary cap, I may also say that it is not important. Does not make it true.

Of course, I am a bit biased. I have been covering the Patriots salary cap since 2001. If the cap is indeed crap, I have been wasting my time:)

Usually the "Cap is crap" mantra is followed by the contention that the Patriots are cheap. The "Patriots are cheap" proponents point to the 82.68% cash spending by the Patriots done in 2013/2014. Somehow they ignore a Super Bowl victory, as if the tool (cash spending) is more important than the result (Super Bowl championship.

If Tom Brady signed his 2013 extension two to 3 weeks later so that it was signed during the 2013 League Year and not in the 2012 League Year, the cash spending percentage would have been 94.4%. The results on the field would have been the same the past two years.

You definately have not wasted your time. You've taken the time to catalog and record the best salary cap managed team for 15 years. I get so excited when you get a mention and kudos on the big stage.

Over The Cap owes you a paycheck, man. That site doesn't exist if you hadn't statred doing this so long ago.

You're a PatsFans.com first ballot Hall of Famer. :)

Like_A_Boss.jpg

The cap isn't crap. The rise and fall of so many one-hit wonder teams is the proof. BB's mastery of economics coupled with his football knowledge is the driving force to success. And, that is why he basically has a lifetime contract.