Welcome to PatsFans.com

Ko Simpson's illegal hit on Moss - "Defensless Reciever?"

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by Shockt327, Nov 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shockt327

    Shockt327 Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -1

    On the first drive, Ko Simpson illegally hit Moss helmet to helmet. Dan Dierdorff pointed out that he "hit a defenseless receiver."

    What does this "defenseless receiver" rule encompass? Is it just helmet to helmet? Is shoulder to helmet illegal too?
  2. upstater1

    upstater1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,027
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ratings:
    +43 / 4 / -3

    Moss was still coming down after going up in the air for the ball.

    You have to let him at least set his feet so that he's not thrashed.
  3. Shockt327

    Shockt327 Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -1

    That's what I thought it was too.

    I'm arguing with some idiot who thinks the call is the same as a late hit call. From what I understand, it is illegal to launch yourself into a receiver irregardless of whether or not he catches the ball or it bounces off his hands. Even if Moss caught the ball it would still be a penalty. If Moss had both feet on the ground and was running - then it would be legal.
  4. Ice Cold Bruschi

    Ice Cold Bruschi Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Sorry I think that was a chicken sh!t call its just further evidence of the pussyfication of the league under goodell. Hits like that used to be how the pats made their bread in the league back in 03-04
  5. TripleOption

    TripleOption Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    If a ball is clearly not catchable, then a receiver cannot be hit anyway. It falls under the same category as Roughing the Passer and Roughing the Kicker.
  6. patsfaninpa

    patsfaninpa Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +30 / 8 / -1


    I feel the same way. Rodney would have another 182 penalties in his career is that
    was called all of the time. Not a knock on Rodney. I love the way he plays. Don't
    care much for how it's officiated any more.
  7. NYPatsFan

    NYPatsFan Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    I thought it was a stupid call. Moss got his hands on the ball and Ko was running full speed at him. It's ridiculous to expect a defender to stop his forward momentum in a split second. Now, if the NFL decides it was a helmet-to-helmet hit then he will be fined. Otherwise, it was a stupid call by the ref.
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2008
  8. upstater1

    upstater1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,027
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ratings:
    +43 / 4 / -3

    They changed the rule. You can't do that anymore. This rule doesn't bother me. Especially after Tatum-Morgan. WRs who go up for the ball are defenceless.
  9. Batman

    Batman Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    As a DB Hate the rule it turns football in to a boring sport rather than a collision sport. You can't touch a receiver to stop him from catching the ball.
  10. DaBruinz

    DaBruinz Pats, B's, Sox PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24,099
    Likes Received:
    144
    Ratings:
    +234 / 18 / -38

    #50 Jersey

    1) The Pats back in 03-04 did not hit receivers late and did not launch themselves at receivers while they were still in the air, but without the ball.
    2) The Defenseless Receiver rule has been around for a long time.
  11. DaBruinz

    DaBruinz Pats, B's, Sox PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24,099
    Likes Received:
    144
    Ratings:
    +234 / 18 / -38

    #50 Jersey

    Split Second? There was almost a 2 count between when the ball skipped off Moss' hands and when Simpson hit Moss.
  12. JoeSixPat

    JoeSixPat Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,858
    Likes Received:
    27
    Ratings:
    +50 / 2 / -0

    The NFL has a rule that players are not able to be on the field with their concealed weapons.

    But don't worry - the NRA is working on it. Admittedly, this might cause some problems during moments of frustration in a blowout game, but then again, it might also prove a deterrent for "running up the score".
  13. Patsfanin Philly

    Patsfanin Philly Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0

    #95 Jersey

    I fixed it for you..
  14. TripleOption

    TripleOption Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    If you arrive and blast him as he catches it, you are fine. In this case the DB knew damn well that Moss didn't catch the ball and tagged him anyway. I am a DB coach and I hate the NFL's emphasis on offense but that was a good call.
  15. Shockt327

    Shockt327 Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -1

    No you are not. You cannot launch yourself into a receiver...irregardless of whether or not he catches the ball, or it already bounced off his hands. You can only "blast" a receiver after he catches the ball and is a ball carrier.

    "According to referee Terry McAulay, the NFL has done a better job of defining what is an illegal hit and what’s not.

    “It doesn’t even have to be a helmet-to-helmet hit,” said McAulay at the Chargers’ training camp at the Home Depot Center in Carson.

    “Launching with a shoulder would be a foul too. The key is, you can’t launch at anyone that is defenseless, usually meaning receivers and quarterbacks. When you jump in the air and launch yourself into a hit, that’s a foul. If you have two feet on the ground with the ball, then you’re a runner and you’re not defenseless,” McAulay said.

  16. TripleOption

    TripleOption Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    If you nail him as the ball arrives and seperate him from the ball, you will not get called. I can count on one hand the amount of "launching"penalties I have seen in the NFL.

    I can quote you the rule on Crackbacks, too...It doesn't mean they get called.
  17. Tunescribe

    Tunescribe PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    16,238
    Likes Received:
    229
    Ratings:
    +489 / 5 / -10

    #61 Jersey

    Even though the call was in our favor, I tend to agree. They're calling these too close. Unless it's a blatant shot at the head, helmet-to-helmet, or the ball was totally uncatchable, etc., the refs need to ease up a bit.
  18. Two Eight

    Two Eight Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    I thought it was a pretty good hit, half second late maybe. The NFL should just get it over with and give the players flags to wear. :banned:
  19. denverpatsfan

    denverpatsfan PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    MC should have been penalized for that bad throw that almost got Randy killed.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>