PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Jaworski down on Chad Jackson

Status
Not open for further replies.

PonyExpress

In the Starting Line-Up
Reaction score
http://www.ronjaworski.com/free_jaws_bites.php

"I think he is overrated. I studied him and I saw a wide receiver who didn't run routes well, didn't adjust well to coverage, didn't go up and get the ball. He has top-end speed and that's great, but there is a lot more to playing the position. I don't think he's a first-round pick. I didn't see a good hand-eye coordination, and I saw a guy who was looking for contact too much when he ran inside routes."

Even in highlight films Jackson seems to cringe before contact...

PonyExpress said:
http://www.ronjaworski.com/free_jaws_bites.php

"I think he is overrated. I studied him and I saw a wide receiver who didn't run routes well, didn't adjust well to coverage, didn't go up and get the ball. He has top-end speed and that's great, but there is a lot more to playing the position. I don't think he's a first-round pick. I didn't see a good hand-eye coordination, and I saw a guy who was looking for contact too much when he ran inside routes."

Even in highlight films Jackson seems to cringe before contact...

Sounds like a scouting report on Bethel Johnson.

Except Johnson's been in the league 3 years.

Watching him in the gauntlet drill at the Combine that was the impression I came away with as he was weaving to set himself better for the throw, instead of just reacting to the ball like a Hass or Avant. There was a reason Hass and Avant are known as possession WRs, they go get the ball instead of running away from it.

Box_O_Rocks said:
Watching him in the gauntlet drill at the Combine that was the impression I came away with as he was weaving to set himself better for the throw, instead of just reacting to the ball like a Hass or Avant. There was a reason Hass and Avant are known as possession WRs, they go get the ball instead of running away from it.