PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

I'm Loving Pope Francis

IcyPatriot

Wall of Fame
PatsFans.com Supporter
2019 Weekly Picks Winner
Reaction score
I'm no religious expert but this is the Catholic teaching I remember as a youngster ... a God who is kind and loving and who accepts people in spite of their faults. A God who forgives sin and welcomes all into heaven. The people who have hijacked God's message with hate ... with vitrol are having their message caste aside by a more powerful voice. Perhaps God is angry ... and has decided to make a stand through Pope Francis ... it's about time. Portions of the Old Testament finally being tossed aside and the record is being set straight.

Pope Francis sets out vision for more gay people and women in 'new' church | World news | The Guardian

Pope Francis has set out his desire to find a "new balance" in the Catholic church, calling for greater involvement of women in key decisions and a less condemnatory approach towards gay people, divorcees and women who have had an abortion.
Asked how he would respond to Catholics who are divorced or remarried or gay, he replies: "I used to receive letters from homosexual persons who are 'socially wounded', because they tell me that they feel like the church has always condemned them. But the church does not want to do this."

He goes on: "A person once asked me, in a provocative manner, if I approved of homosexuality. I replied with another question: 'Tell me: when God looks at a gay person, does he endorse the existence of this person with love, or reject and condemn this person?' We must always consider the person … In life, God accompanies persons, and we must accompany them, starting from their situation."

Last edited: