Welcome to PatsFans.com

I'm building my own computer, and would like to hear your advice

Discussion in 'The PatsFans.com Pub' started by Real World, Sep 23, 2009.

1. Real World

Real World Moderator Staff Member

Ratings:
    +839 / 7 / -3

Hi all. I'm an avid gamer, and I've decided to upgrade my gaming PC here at home. I play shooters mainly on the Pc, as I leave the sports games to my PS3. Anyhow, I've been giving it some thought, and I've decided to build it myself. This will be my first build, so I'm looking for any, and all advice. I've replaced parts on computers, and understand the basic components that make up a PC. So while I'm by no means an expert, I'm not clueless either. Some online buds of mine have built their own in the last year or so, and have stressed to me that I should do the same, as I'd save a decent amount of money, while being able to buy better parts. While all that is attractive, I think the challenge of building it myself (I'm a builder in real life), is what has me sold. Ok, now to the computer itself.

*I'm looking to spend somewhere in between $1,000-1,500, and I will need a monitor as well. I can spend more, but I'd prefer not to.

I've decided on using the Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem. Some have recommended the i5 Lynnfield, since it's cheaper, but Microcenter.com (there's an actual store in Cambridge) has it for $199 (Newegg has it at $279). From all the articles I've read on bench mark tests, the i7 920 seems to be the people's choice for processors, inside of my price range.

That brings us to the Motherboard. Some have warned against going with an Asrock x58 Extreme board, while some swear by it. Some others suggest going with ASUS P6T, Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P, or ASUS P6T Deluxe V2.

RAM - I'm debating between 6 GB's, and 12. I know that 12GB's is massive overkill, so I'll likely go with 6. These are some rcommendations people made elsewhere: